We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary food that isn't worth the long, long wait” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lough Pool

Lough Pool
Sellack, Ross-on-Wye, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 61 restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Cuisines: Central European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ordinary food that isn't worth the long, long wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The setting is about a lovely as English country inns get, and over the years it's served excellent food (notably in the early 2000s when Stephen Bull was the chef-owner).
But it's changed hands a couple of times since then, and today's experience was ... well, not awful, but just depressing: a very long wait for very ordinary food. It's not good enough, and you sense that they know it: the front of house attitude is defensive, to say the least. They didn't apologise for the long delay - instead, they excused themselves by saying, repeatedly, "It's all freshly prepared," as if deep-frying frozen scampi to order is some miraculous favour for which we should be happy to wait an hour.
Being there feels like being stuck in a failing relationship. Get out, move on.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    13
    11
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Well, I went for the first time last year and since then have brought every visitor to our house to the pub for a number of reasons.

Firstly the food. Always freshly cooked and of excellent quality. If you're hungry the mixed grill will leave that feeling a distant memory, if you like your fish and chips, you'll get a quality serving here. The specials board is always pleasing, I had some venison loin off this a couple of months ago and this is probably the best meal I have ever eaten. If it is busy you may be in for a wait for food service, but this is countered by the knowledge that the food is freshly cooked and the beer and cider can keep you occupied

Secondly, the warm atmosphere - not only due to the large wood burners, but a friendly landlord and a mixture of locals having a drink and people out for a good meal. All of these combine to a relaxed evening where the experience is as long as you want it to be.

Go and don't be disappointed

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food! But!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Lovely menu, food even better, hospitality wasn't great. Didn't ask if wanted drinks topped up. Wasn't offered coffee at end. Would be 5 star if staff had been friendlier.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lunch warm and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The four of us popped in for lunch without booking.
A fairly quiet midweek day out of season but there were area others dining.
The greeting and subsequent banter was warm and friendly and the food above average by some margin for a pub.
Belly pork was good and I am told that the liver was good ( this dish not for me though). Mine host gave good advice on how my wife should request it's cooking.

Definitely visit again when in area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We love this place and have been twice in the last 2 months.
Lovely cosy atmosphere. Helpful, efficient service and reliably great food.
We have 2 vegetarians and 3 children under 7 years so we are not an easy group to please. However everyone found something yummy to eat and there were no leftovers.
We have only been for lunch but this is the kind of pub that would be great for a family dinner or quiet meal for 2.
We will be back and would highly recommend it for families, couples or anyone looking for great food in a welcoming relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lough Pool also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Hoarwithy, Herefordshire
 
Hoarwithy, Herefordshire
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to Lough Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lough Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.