We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilton Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wilton Court Hotel to your Saves list
Wilton Court Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wilton Lane, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Porthcawl
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed here with my husband and our dog for a 3-night break at the beginning of October. Genuinely warm welcome from the owners. We had a lovely four poster room with views of the river. The food was excellent - we stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis which was excellent value. We dined in the Conservatory and had a drink in the bar afterwards which was very cosy. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    41
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
170
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at Wilton Court for 4 nights in September and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The welcome was warm and friendly. Our room was fairly large with a nice garden view. The bed was huge and there was plenty of seating for relaxing and a large television too. The bathroom was a decent size. The food here was outstanding and we enjoyed three dinners in the restaurant. Breakfast was also very good with the added touch of home made marmalade and jam. The cooked breakfast was perfectly cooked and there was a selection of juice, fruit and cereals. The staff were all friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed but efficient. On the other night of our stay we decided to have a lighter meal so resorted to the room service 'lite bites' which was beautifully presented and delicious. Another nice touch at Wilton Court was that we could get a jug of real milk at any time for our cups of tea in the room.

The hotel has parking just across the road so very convenient. There is a nice walk by the river into Ross. We had lovely weather while there and found plenty of places to visit in the surrounding areas. We would certainly stay at this hotel again and would recommend it for a relaxing stay with excellent food and helpful, friendly owners and staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We had an outstanding few days over the New Year period; the welcome was immense, the food, wine and accommodation superb. It was a simply outstanding experience: the only difficulty is getting a booking! Popularity brings its own problems.

Room Tip: Book rearly
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I visited Wilton Court for the first time last year and enjoyed it so much we knew we had to come back. (See our prior review of October 1, 2010).The proprietors, Helen and Roger Wynn, are inn keepers extraordinaire. They are kind and attentive to their guests and care deeply about the quality of accommodations and service they provide. They demonstrate this in many small ways, from their warm greeting upon our arrival to the box of chocolates awaiting us in our room (Room 8, a very spacious and comfortable room with windows overlooking the lovely garden). Their staff is well trained and professional, striking just the right balance between friendly and reserved.

Aside from the charming accommodations and attentive service, we came back to Wilton Court for the food. It is just superb. The ingredients, the preparation and the presentation are flawless. I wish we lived close enough to visit the restaurant much more frequently (unfortunately, we live over 5000 miles away, which is not conducive to popping in for dinner.)

Both Roger and Helen are also wonderful sources of information on local sights and activities. This year Helen suggested a driving tour of some of the local "black and white" (Tudor style) villages and provided us with an audio CD for the purpose. We ended up having one of the very best experiences of our whole trip, courtesy of the Ladies Spinning Society in the village of Dilwyn. (There are also some amazing Norman churches in the area that are simply not to be missed. Ask Helen for her recommendations.)

In sum, Wilton Court is a very special place. Treat yourself and go.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have been lucky enough to have stayed in some of the best rated hotels in the World, but the proprietors of Wilton Court seem to have brought all the best aspects together. A beautiful building, great location, lovely rooms and bathrooms which are immaculately clean. Great food and service but at the same time respect for privacy, combiend with friendlyness. Very Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We spent two nights at the Wilton Court Hotel and wished it could have been longer. The food was excellent and the setting perfectly lovely.We booked at the last minute so the choice of rooms was limited and although the room allocated was beautifully furnished it was rather small (we had a dog) and the bathroom was tiny. However this did not detract from our enjoyable stay at this excellent hotel. The staff were efficient and frtiendly and the food was very good indeed.
If we had a criticism to make it would be the odd choice of far eastern furnishings that did not quite match the 17th century building. It was fairly obvious that these artefacts were of personal value to the owners but we did not feel that they helped to promote the atmosphere of the hotel. However,we would certainly return again and in fact plan to do so very soon. We would highly recommend this little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

As we arrived the sun shone on the sparkling river flowing gently within a few yards of the hotel and with a view across to the soaring spire of Ross-on-Wye. We entered through the garden and patio with shady trees, some laden with fruit, surrounding a lawn dotted with tables and chairs. The reception was warm and cheerful and accompanied by a complimentary cup of tea; the room overlooking the garden was bright and cheerful, impeccably clean, well appointed and comfortable, the bath/shower room immaculate. There are other rooms overlooking the river.
Before dinner we sat in the small, comfortable bar with our aperitif, and were offered tasty tasters to accompan it, a touch we really appreciated. The dinner itself was beautifully served and delicious followed by coffee in the lounge. Following a good night's sleep, not always available at our age, we had a lovely breakfast choosing from a broad and generous menu. Being a Manxman I was amazed and delighted to find Manx kippers on offer; (only the best) what an indulgence and a delight! ....and thoughtfully unusual.
We loved the easy access to the Wye Valley and surrounding towns and villages; the quiet of the location and the parking right outside the hotel. This was a place which combined everything which is good about hospitality and service. We will certainly be back again. Once having found this gem,we shall treasure it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilton Court Hotel

Address: Wilton Lane, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilton Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wilton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilton Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire
Wilton Court Ross On Wye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilton Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.