We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, dated, grubby ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Hope and Anchor Inn

The Hope and Anchor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Hope and Anchor Inn to your Saves list
The Hope and Anchor Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Wye Street, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 38 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tired, dated, grubby ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Popped in for lunch after finding the Lough Pool closed and knew that at least the setting of the Hope and Anchor would impress my clients. Sadly that's where the positive experience ends. The bar is filthy, the floors the worst kind of sticky and the menus were so dirty that I needed to wash my hands after touching them . The food when it arrived (promptly) was very, very ordinary. A chicken baguette was small and of the standard take and bake variety and accompanied by barely cooked frozen chips. The chilli seemed OK and at least came with a large accompaniment of rice and chips while the burger resembled 1980s school dinners. Wouldn't stop here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    22
    19
    6
See reviews for
9
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was our first trip to the area and the pub was in a lovely location but, despite reasonably good service, the inside was dated and dirty and the food distinctly mediocre (e.g. canned soup and take and bake baguettes). We wouldn't have wanted to have stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Booked a last minute room at the Hope and Anchor on a Saturday night. Most places in Ross seem to be £70-90 a night for a double, and the hope was the cheapest at £60, also the only one with a space left! we arrived and were greeted in the pub by some very friendly staff who were happy to let us know about the area, and chat to my partner about the events going on that weekend. we were shown to the room in a separate building, which was nice as it kept us away from the noise of the pub. the room itself was rather run down but clean. I was amazed to find a bathroom smaller than the one we have at home, and we live on a boat! it was tiny. you couldn't sit on the toilet without knocking the toilet roll off the holder. other than tea, coffee and towels the only thing we were provided with was a small bottle of showergel each. No hand soap or anything for washing hands. We didn't eat at the pub in the evening but after a good nights sleep, in a comfy bed we had breakfast. This was served in the pub, and the chap who i presume was the landlord, was very pleasant, again happy to chat and fill us in on what was going on (apparently we had arrived in time for the Ross Remebers celebrations). The breakfast was ok, but not of great quality, the sausage was the colour and texture of breadcrumbs, and the bowls for the cereal came to the table dirty.

Over all, the hope and anchor is fine if you just need somewhere to sleep. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Personally i wouldn't stay again, as i'd rather pay the extra and stay somewhere a little more up to date and less shabby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stopped at the Hope and Anchor's teashop/cum antiques shop which adjoins the pub. It's in a lovely location but I think we went on a bad day (at least, I hope it was a bad day!) The lunch menu looked promising but, when we asked for sandwiches, paninis etc, all on the menu, we were told that they only had ciabattas.So we ordered drinks,ciabattas, plus some cakes, and a warm sausage roll. We waited quite a while,(the place wasn't busy - I think only 1 other table was occupied) and then had to remind them about our drinks. These were then prepared, but the tea was lukewarm. We waited again but still nothing else arrived. Again, we reminded them and eventually got our ciabattas. We assumed everything else was on its way, but.after waiting another good while, we again had to remind them Eventually, a warm sausage roll appeared but it didn't taste good at all. The lunch was expensive, and the service was dreadful.Not a single apology was given when we had to keep reminding them about our food. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My family stopped here for lunch on Saturday. We were clearly an inconvenience for the lad who served us at the bar. No friendliness or welcoming attitudes to be found there. The childrens menu states that the burger DOES NOT come in a bread bun. Since this has been enough of a common misconception by customers for the management to take the time to reprint the menus, would it not have been easier to simply serve the burger in a bun (as one would expect)???!! Anyway. A very miserable looking male member of staff eventually brought our food. It was average at best - but this didn't come as a huge surprise given the overall impression we had of the place; it is dark and dhingy with carpet and decor looking as though it dates from the Victorian era. We will not be returning! A complete waste of a lovely setting.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stopped for an evening drink at his pub. It has a pleasant riverside location, but the garden furniture is rough and scruffy, and that matches the interior. The stairway to the toilets is extremely poor, and the toilets are only a little better. The bar areas are unimaginative and rather gloomy. This could be a great place, but at the moment it's a big let down.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Lovely riverside setting. Greeted by friendly staff. Shown to room which initially looked fine. Old and cottage-like. En-suite door was an interesting shape. Reasonably clean but definitely needs redecorating.

Went to bar for a pint. Beer was nice. Ordered food. I had a burger that I think had been deep fried. It was disgusting and greasy. My partner had a chilli with rice and chips. Dining room was a bit grubby.

Went to bed. My partner kept rolling into me due to the whole room sloping towards the window so woke feeling a bit stiff. Single glazing meant the room was cold and there was a lot of condensation on the windows in the morning (probably why the ornament on the window has mould spots on it).

Some window panes were cracked and also some of the bathroom floor tiles. Noticed an unpleasant stain on the carpet that didn't look like any real effort had been put into the cleaning of it.

Has potential to be lovely but I wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hope and Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hope and Anchor Inn

Address: Wye Street, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hope and Anchor Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Hope and Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hope And Anchor Inn Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hope and Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.