We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for small children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo

Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
+44 1600 890360
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo provides an ideal space to experience beautiful, free-flying, tropical butterflies!Use our identification sheets to find out about our butterflies & hunt for caterpillars and chrysalis along the way!We are ideally set in the Wye Valley, next to The aMazing Hedge Puzzle, Wye Valley Miniature Golf & Wye Valley Warfare Laser Ops! Check our website for online offers!
UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great for small children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The children, 4 and 7, loved it. Cafes, a Maze and crazy golf on site with a garden centre too. One ticket and you can go back to the butterfly house as many times as you want (especially in cold weather) as it is hot in there.
The maze is solvable - not giving you the answer.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    42
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Interesting opportunity to get close to some beautiful butterflies and take photos (after the camera lens cleared!). The zoo is quite small and very warm but you can come and go as often as you like in the day so went for a coffee and cake in the cafe to cool off then back for a second visit. Useful information cards provided but difficult to hold while you take photos, could have done with them on a string to hang round my neck! Shame about the garden centre which looked nice from the outside but was very tatty in the plant area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“always a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I took a break from the manic friday traffic and returned to the butterfly zoo after many years as my grandchildren are now grown. It was as good as it was 20 years ago. Warm and dry on a wet day, and lovely helpful staff. Beautiful butterflies and my grand-daughter (now aged 26) is thrilled that part of her birthday present is a return visit after 15 years.The whole complex including the hedge puzzle and maze and riverboats make this place a lovely experience, and reasonably priced. Thank you.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Excellent place to take young children out of school holiday time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We took my four year old granddaughter to the Zoo just after the autumn term had started so it was very quiet. I expect it may get busy during the holidays. The butterflies were absolutely amazing and the staff gave us a magnifying glass and identification sheets to use while we were in the Zoo. As others have said staff are really helpful and the number of butterflies holds little ones interest very well. Our only disappointment was that grandad was the only person a butterfly landed on. Prices were very reasonable with discounts for OAPs and under 5s free. You can return to the Zoo as often as you like so it is good to see the butterflies first then go to the maze (we bought a joint ticket) and then return to the butterflies. There is a cafe and also an indoor area for eating packed lunches plus a garden centre for adults not keen on butterflies.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The kids loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We took our two daughters (2.5 yrs and 6) and they loved spotting the different butterflies as they bobbed and flapped around our heads. The amount of butterflies is amazing, and though it was busy, it was never a problem. A really good activity for the kids.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.