We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids keep saying can we go back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo

Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
+44 1600 890360
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo provides an ideal space to experience beautiful, free-flying, tropical butterflies!Use our identification sheets to find out about our butterflies & hunt for caterpillars and chrysalis along the way!We are ideally set in the Wye Valley, next to The aMazing Hedge Puzzle, Wye Valley Miniature Golf & Wye Valley Warfare Laser Ops! Check our website for online offers!
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kids keep saying can we go back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Brillient, I have never managed to keep my kids so interested and still, (apart from a computer game!). Lots of beautifull butterflies, We learnt a lot while we were there and took loads of great photos! Thanks

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    42
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Faversham Kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Only a small exhibit, but butterflies are not overly large. Sat in there for half an hour just watching all these beautiful creatures. The colours are magnificent. Several took a rest on me including one Owl butterfly who was trying desperately to extract nectar from my signet ring.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“caterpillars in the place i am happy to see them”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Went here on a sunny thursday late morning outside of the school holidays.... great time to go - plenty of beautiful butterflies.... and once you warm up they will land on you... so if you are of a delicate "scaredeecat" nature who doesn't like that sort of thing this isn't the place to go - fortunately i am not and i loved it. The folks running it are really knowledgeable and give advice about "pests" (so the cabbage whites in my garden) and how to get rid of them as well as info about the more exotic ones they have in their greenhouse. Yes - it does get hot in the greenhouse, so be prepared to delayer before you go in.
The crazy golf outside was fun too.... and just confirmed that i will never be a golfer lol
The tearoom looked good but didnt try it - but there is plenty of grounds if you bring your own picnic.
Great way to spend a few hours - we didnt go to the hedge maze - but that is the otherside of the attraction - suggest you go to their website for more info about the whole site

http://www.butterflyzoo.co.uk/

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coelbren, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very hot (understandable) but very interesting. thought there would be more exotic species to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Liked the venue but not the heat and lack of species, overall very worthwhile to visit the area and take in this zoo.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Butterfly Zoo is simply amazing, you must make sure to visit it, whilst in Ross-on-Wye. It makes a great day out particularly if it is raining, as you can keep dry whilst the showers pass overhead.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.