We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food dated bedrooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Chase Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Chase Hotel to your Saves list
The Chase Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Herts
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice food dated bedrooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was a Travel Zoo one night break for £89, dinner bed and breakfast. The food in Harrys Restaurant was very pleasant. The voucher gave a choice of three starters, main and dessert or a £12.50 supplement to upgrade the dining experience which was not necessary. Breakfast was very good too, plentiful and cooked to order.
The reception staff were polite, efficient and helpful as were the restaurant staff however we had a less than good experience in the bar, the young attendant was very quickly overwhelmed by customers and there were no reinforcements. That coupled with the turning on of the TV for one guest to watch sport in the lounge area definately spoiled the pre dinner drinks.
The room was a basic one which was to be expected with the offer however it was dated, a bit late 80s early 90s in decor and the bathroom could do with an upgrade ( who has wooden toilet seats these days - yuk ) That said, the bed was comfortable and the sheets and towels spotless.
Would I stay again ? Nope but dont let that put you off your travelzoo stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    98
    63
    27
    8
See reviews for
29
147
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful building with stunning staircase but it stops there.
Staff helpful and cheerful.
Harry's restaurant very mediocre. Pricing of different choices was silly and complicated. Food in evening was bland and unimaginative and definitely would not go again! Lovely young waitresses were attentive.
Breakfast ok but supposed to be available early and only came out later onto Bain Maries for self service.
Fire could have been lit. The whole place was too cold and barren.
It was all spotlessly clean.
Though our room was supposed to be a luxury upgrade it was hard to see why. So glad it wasn't a standard room in that case!
Fluffy towels but had to get another set out from the tatty wardrobe so we could both have a set! Only one set provided in the bathroom!
Lots of small things could have been remedied to make it more comfortable-heating, lit fire, 2 sets of towels, etc. ---all in all it felt like a rep's type of hotel not a luxury treat.
Although we had a "deal" it was still not what we had expected. It would have been good to have a great experience to tempt us back!
Sorry but we will not be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just had a lovely weekend at the chase hotel, it was a bit of a trek for us as it was a 3+ hour drive and when we arrived there were a few problems with checking in as when my partner booked in the week, the person that took his booking did not actually book us in but even though we were frustated as we were tired from our drive, we were upgraded to a four poster room that was actually very impressive at no extra cost so we were delighted. Only little niggle would be because the restaurant is award winning we were booked in for 8.45pm and didnt actually sit down to eat till almost 10pm, as i wouldnt normally eat this time of the evening i did feel a bit uncomfortable for the rest of the evening. However the staff were very helpful especially a lady called cherith who bless her was wonder woman wizzing around making everyone happy. Overall a couple of hickups but a lovely hotel and i would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We were in room 2 that was at the front of the hotel where the view was pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Upon driving up to the hotel for one night on 2nd February the area looked lovely and we were looking forward to our relaxing break. Such a shame it wasn't relaxing at all.

We were given room 11 and hadn't read up on the hotel or rooms first as it was a Christmas present from the future father in law. It was a fairly small room and to be honest I had seen better size beds and rooms on business trips to holiday inns. As we were here to relax rather than go out and about it was more about the room than it usually would be for us. The second thing I noticed was the noise that sounded like you were on a Boeing 747 but slightly louder. This was coming from the air duct from the kitchens straight outside our window. With the windows shut it was fairly loud but with them open (we both like to sleep with fresh air coming through the window even in the winter,and it was very hot in the rooms even with the radiators off) it was a seriously annoying noise that drowned out trying to talk. We voiced our concerns about this to reception and was assured that it would be switched off at 10pm which we thought would be fine due to the fact that we were going down for a meal set for 8:15.

8:15 came and we went down to have our meal, but first we were sent to a waiting area with a bar and given a menu 20 minutes later. People were being called into the restaurant at different points whilst in the "waiting room" and we overheard that some had been waiting for a long time as well. We spoke to a lady who turned out to be the deputy manager and rather than reassure us of how long we would have to wait and offer us a complimentary drink for the delay she just said she would find out and didn't return until after we were called in. We finally got to sit down at 9:00pm 45 minutes later and very hungry. This really would not have been a problem had we have been told what was happening but we were just left in limbo, we wanted an early night to due to a very long week at work. I would like to compliment the lad on the bar in the waiting room though, he seemed to have an excellent customer service manner and smiled at us whilst talking and genuinely sounded happy, this was nice as some of the older staff seemed very disinterested in smiling and speaking to two thirty somethings although the were ok with the older people there, slightly odd as we are the social network generation with the knowledge to spread the word as it were. The food once we got to it was very very nice, it's just a shame it was spoilt by poor communication skills.

We got back up to our room at 10:15 and the air duct noise was still on which was a shame as it was very hot in the room still. As we are not the type of people to jump the gun we gave it some time to see what would happen. This is where the main bulk of the low score comes from, it was on until 11:45pm and was then switched back on at 7:30am. Lets be honest here, when you book into a hotel to relax you at least expect a decent nights sleep! Coupled with the fact that the walls in the room must be made from card and drunk people were coming in at 2-3 am we heard EVERYTHING. Every minute. All night. About 3:30am someone in the room behind us decided to run a bath! Due to the fact their bathroom must back onto our headboard of the bed we were treated to this for 30 minutes too.

In the morning their breakfast was great, again compliments to the kitchen (apart from your air duct of course). Everything tasted of good quality produce and was fresh. We could not fault it.

We are not the type to complain about every little thing, seriously, but in this instance we felt that we had to complain to reception about everything that went on. We went to check out and waited to be asked if we had a nice stay.....and waited......and waited.... No the hotel were not interested in our time at the Chase. So we aired our views in a polite but professional manner. No apology or anything for our terrible night, just a question if we had far to travel and that she will tell the manager of our comments.

All in all such a shame, we really were looking forward to relaxing and were looking into this as a possible wedding venue for next year. Not anymore. I will be forwarding these comments on to the manager of the hotel to give them a second chance to respond in a more proactive and professional way and keep things fair. We may have had a completely different experience in a different room.

Lee & Laura

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Having booked this hotel for for my birthday weekend we were not disappointed. The grounds and entrance to this hotel are impressive. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room may have been on the small side but for 1 or 2 nights this is not a problem. The best part of this hotel was the food, the best meal we have had and the breakfast was second to none, all served in a lovely elegant room. The hotel is best placed for the town of Ross with a 2 minute walk to the centre. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and highly recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

we stayed at this hotel from 2nd jan/5th jan 2013 .this was our 4th visit .this is a top class hotel .the staff are first class polite and helpful and good at there job 'the rooms are very clean and spacious.the food in harrys restaraunt is fantastic 'the chef has been here a few years now and is very good at his job'high class differant meals of a very high standard every night .this hotel is a must for all to try you will not be dissappointed..highly recommended john/jacky shortland.

Room Tip: we have stayed in 4 differant rooms all very acceptable.the view is lovely whatever room you are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and was very happy with my experience. It is very easy to find and well sign posted, parking is free and plentiful. I stayed the week before christmas and the hotel was decked out beautifully with a massive tree and decorations. The staff were all very keen to help you, especially in the restuarant! It is only a 2 minute walk from the town, which is very cute with loads of lovely little shops and cafes, well worth a look round.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Hotel

Address: Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chase Hotel in Ross-on-Wye is a Georgian Country house hotel set in 11 acres of parkland surrounded by stunning countryside. The hotel has been refurbished to reflect an up to date feel which blends sympathetically and seamlessly with the period charm and features of the building, enabling guests to relax and enjoy their stay in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Ross On Wye
The Chase Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chase Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.