We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, shame about the rest...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Chase Hotel to your Saves list
The Chase Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice staff, shame about the rest...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Distlinctly lacking in many respects: post-wedding disco only ended at 1am - my bed vibrated along with the disco; bedrooms & lounge rooms need updating; no attempt made to facilitate disabled guests - forget it if you're in a wheelchair. On the plus side, staff mostly very helpful and friendly; good food (but be prepared for a long wait in the evening); comfy beds; very clean rooms, and it all looks lovely until you get to your bedroom...

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the disco/wedding area as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    86
    53
    27
    8
See reviews for
24
136
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reigate
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We had a Sunday night deal bedroom for 2 which included a 3 course evening meal. After booking hotel staff phoned to advise me that there was a wedding that night and there might be noise. I decided to take the risk and we didn't hear any noise whatsoever.
Our room was tiny and at the back of the hotel overlooking ventilation ducts.

The hotel is in a good location very peaceful area but just a few yards from Ross town centre. There was a heron in the lake in the grounds.

Staff couldn't have been better, seemed proud of their work

Restaurant food was average but cheerfully and nicely presented

If we'd paid full price would have been most dissappointed but we didn;t so it was OK

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We booked this hotel at very short notice having been badly let down by The Swan at Hay who managed to mess up our booking made a year previously. We needed 13 double bedrooms with only 8 weeks to go to our visit and the Chase was the only hotel in the vicinity that could help us. We were not sure what the standard was going to be like but we were very agreeably surprised. The hotel is in a lovely quiet setting with expansive lawns and trees and away from the town but within very easy walking distance. The service we received was excellent with everyone being friendly and very helpful. The rooms are rather dated and impersonal - you could be in any corporate hotel anywhere in the world which is a shame. However the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms looked as if they had recently been refurbished. The towels were lovely and big and fluffy. The soundproofing on most of the rooms was pretty appalling however.

The food in the evening was excellent and although the breakfast nothing special it was perfectly adequate with good quality sausage and bacon. We paid £160 per night D,B&B for an executive room and thought that was good value for what we got. We have provisioually booked to return next year.

Room Tip: Go for an executive room and Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

For £120 per night, i expected a bit more luxury! The room was small, (no bigger than our bedroom at home),cobwebs on the ceiling, the single wardrobe had a door that wouldn't stay open, and the bathroom door wouldn't stay shut! I had to put a towel at the bottom of the entrance door to keep out the light. Whatever you do, DONT have room 19. There is a quadrant outside the window, which is above the kitchen. The extractor fans sound like jet engines, that keep going until 10.30pm, and start again about 7.30am! We had warm weather, so we had to keep the windows open. We also had rain during the night, and the sound of the rain on the stones outside kept you awake half the night! The breakfast was nothing special, and you have to wait until the staff aren't too busy, to serve you. Having stayed at Hilton Hotels with our Tesco vouchers, we know what £120 per night can get you! This room should have been half the price. Needless to say, we shan't be staying at another Classic British Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We were just passing through Ross at lunchtime and decided to give the Chase Hotel a try for an unbooked lunch. Did not stay but the restuarant is worth a review for intending diners who are non residents. The menu (£15.50 for two courses, £19.95 for three) did not on first reading appear particularly exciting, but the presentation and quality of the food was much much better than we expected. For example, pork and chorizio terrine with toasted brioche and fruit chutney, baked goats cheese tart with salad leaves and onion marmalade for starters. For mains we had coconut crusted chicken breast with lemongrass and coriander sauce (very very good, moist fresh free range chicken and generous portion) grilled salmon fillet with a tapenade veloute sauce. Didn't get to desserts but I am sure they would have been fine such as white and dark chocolate mousse with poached pears. Excellent coffee and tasty petits four (£3.95). A fair choice of wines by the glass and a moderate wine list with sensible pricing. Immaculate linen and tableware and glasses in a bright attractive dining room with pleasant timely service. Well worth a stop if you on the A40 or have other reasons to be in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

My husband & I stayed here on our way to Wales. The hotel has a lovley old world charm. The rooms ARE small & somewhat dated but we didn't mind this. They were very clean indeed & lovely & quiet.
The hotel & bar are great & very reasonably priced too. We had a glass of wine in the lovely gardens before eating a well presented & well thought out meal in the restaurant.

The really good thing about this hotel is the friendly and outgoing staff. Everyone went out of their way to be friendly & to chat & this made a real difference to the feel of our stay. It was a welcome change from impersonal chain hotels and stuffy owners who sometimes seem to think that they are doing you a favour by letting you stay at their hotel! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We havent been to this place for about 10 years, and we have always found Ross on Wye to be a bit plain when eating out,, We were on a business trip with another couple and we booked a table here for a saturday night meal,,, it was great !!! I must say one of the best meals I have had for a very long time,, excellent service,, excellent building and excellent food,,,,, and not silly expensive... will go again when we are next in that area...

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Hotel

Address: Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chase Hotel in Ross-on-Wye is a Georgian Country house hotel set in 11 acres of parkland surrounded by stunning countryside. The hotel has been refurbished to reflect an up to date feel which blends sympathetically and seamlessly with the period charm and features of the building, enabling guests to relax and enjoy their stay in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Ross On Wye
The Chase Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chase Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.