We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively, busy restaurant - good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of INDIAN SUMMER

INDIAN SUMMER
9 HIGH STREET, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England
01989 566 700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 63 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Price range: $24 - $31
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Berks - UK
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lively, busy restaurant - good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The place was packed on bank holiday sunday - always a good sign. The food was very tasty but we did wonder if we had got slghtly smaller portions by using our tastecard (50% off). The meat content was OK but not huge, BYO bottle is also a good bonus for a cheaper evening out. All in all a good value for money but not if we had been really hungry

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fine food, good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We ate, seven of us, Bank Holiday Saturday evening. It was packed but that was our fault as we had recommended it to others (who were there before us!). It does not have a drinks licence so you have to take your own but that does keep costs down. We had a varied set of meals and the food was excellent. The only negative was the speed of service but, as said, it was busy. The menue is vast and caters for vegatarians. We enjoyed the food, the atmosphere and the service. It is out of the way of the noisy pubs with bouncers etc and we would go again if in Ross.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We visited this restaurant on a Thursday evening, the food and service were second to none. A modern restaurant, the staff were extremely professional, yet friendly too. The BYO policy is a bouns, we picked up a bottle of wine around the corner at the Spar and took this in with us. Excellent, will be back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in Essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“WOW! When can they open a branch down South?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

As a newbie to Ross and lovers of Indian food we were keen to try the local curry houses and having read the reviews of this restaurant on Trip Adivisor made it our top priority...... We certainly were not disappointed and visited twice in three days! The food was great - I asked for a variation on a dish and this was done without hesitation, it all arrived looking beautiful and tasted fantastic. We sat in the main area of the restaurant but to us the "corridor" would have been as good - the decor is very modern and the staff are very helpful. You do have to take your own alcholic drinks but that isn't a problem as there are loads of supermarkets/mini marts nearby. My only criticism is that unlike other retaurants in the area they don't offer a special offer day, two or three other restaurants in the area do so this could impact on business. We will definitely be going back to Indian Summer when next in Ross!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Smart decor, friendly service. Like the other reviewer, we were seated in the "corridor", but that wasn't a problem. The food was excellent, slightly on the pricey side, but well worth it. It's worth mentioning that they don't accept credit or debit cards, so bring cash or a cheque book. No beer or wine sales, but you can bring your own booze.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed INDIAN SUMMER also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to INDIAN SUMMER? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage INDIAN SUMMER, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.