We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palace Pound, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Sheffield
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Ive recently stopped at this hotel and thought that the stay was overall ok. This was my first time stopping at the hotel.

I shall explain upon check-in we was asked if we would like a newspaper there was two rooms, on the first morning only one had a paper, on the second morning there was two papers but one incorrect. I overheard a guest that was unhappy about the hotel charging for delivery, which I think paying a small charge for delivery is acceptable (afterall thats what happens when papers are delivered to your home isn't it?) but the hotel should make this clear.

Upon entering my room the furniture and general cleanliness was of a good standard upon first impressions. However the shower curtain in my room (12) was rather longer than neccesary. As the shower curtain was trailing in the bath and thought that this was quite a dangerous slipping hazard.

The bar whilst is a very nice, warm and relaxing area could do with another real ale pump and £2.90 for a pint of ale, I thought maybe was a touch too expensive, £2.60 would probably be fair.

Breakfast was good with a varied selection of cereals, fruits and pastries e.t.c. However if you order anything cooked I would recommend Eggs Benedict rather than the full breakfast. Normally I like a good breakfast but prefered the benedict instead.

I didnt eat in the hotel itself so cannot comment on food in evening.

The hotel reception area and other public areas are all very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    246
    101
    36
    28
See reviews for
59
367
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

I was a little unsure of visiting this hotel, purely down to the cost. I thought at £60 for a family room per night it would not be all that great.
However, this is a little gem and well worth a visit.
The rooms are fine, a fair size with everything that you expect. We had a view across the countryside looking out to the river Wye. The hotel is 3 star I believe and the rooms reflect that perfectly.
The hotel has a restaurant that is okay, but it is better to eat in the bar area, which is a lively place that attracts locals as well as the hotel guests. The bar is a really nice place to eat or just to visit for a drink and would be even nicer in the summer due to the patio area outside that overlooks the countryside.
They do breakfast until 10.00am, but if you miss it, they will serve you breakfast in the bar until 12.00, which was really good for us.
One tip, when you book in they do ask you if you want to book a table. This is definately advisable as the bar and restaurant do get very busy and so you will need to book up so not to be disappointed.
The food is good quality, but again very good value.
This hotel is good, but at £60 it is excellent. I have stopped in far worse hotels and paid over double. It is miles better than the budget type hotels that have no charachter and have a pub chain attached on the side. This is a really good hotel and I would have been happy to have paid another £40 per night and still been happy.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

A pleasant hotel in a good location, near the town centre in the beautiful county of Herefordshire.
A reasonable size room with a side view of the river. The room was clean and comfortable with all facilities. Being an Old English Inn, the hotel was dated but this is expected and is part of the charm.
The staff were friendly, helpful and cosmopolitan. The restaurant and meals were excellent.
We would stay again, and yes the windows were ill fitting but they were Georgian.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

My wife and i had a short break of 3 nights with our black lab Sally. The location of the hotel is excellent, just off the busy high street for shops and resteraunts- but in a quiet srteet just around the corner - best of both. plenty of parking at this time of year. The hotel and room were clean and the bed very comfortable, the staff very friendly and accommodating. If you're taking a dog its very cheap at £5 per stay and they are made welcome - there is a very good grassed area off the car park for them first thing in the morning and last thing at night as long as you clean up! Well situated for exploring the Wye Valley - 10 minutes to Symonds Yat. Food very good and well priced, bar area a little dimly lit for us but not a big issue. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cannot fault it, plan to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

A good location overlooking th River Wye is what was quoted and thats is exactly what we got. I initially booked an executive room after noting an offer in BBC Olive magazine. We would probably label ourselves as foodies and if Olive promoted it then all well and good. Unfortunately the room we were allocated was a bit dismal and standard and really not what we had expected after viewing the website, a large pile of dog ends loitered at the side of our balcony! . We asked to see another room and were shown a 'feature room' which was better and big too but there would be an extra charge which we accepted. Old English Inns said there had been a lot of money spent on refurbishing the hotel but it was hard to see where, not on the rooms anyway. It was a bit shabby in the decor and fittings, curtains not properly secured, lamps that wobbled and fittings clinging to walls for dear life and not securely fixed. Being a housebuilder you notice the details. It was clean however and the bed comfrotable. The food in the bar restaurant was very good for the money and would reccommend to try if standard pub fare is what your after, we ate there the first day before finding a superb alternative the following night (the Bridge Hotel at Wilton less than half a mile away). The largely Southern Hemishere staff were good and helpful and there was plenty of them about when needed. We were after a cheapish weekend break and that is what we got, our initial dissapointment in the Hotel was overcome and we had an enjoyable weekend overall, but would we go back, definitely not, and OEI should wipe some of the gloss off of their site and just be honest with prospective customers.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

We visited the Royal last week for two nights mid week. We paid forty five pounds a night per room for bed and breakfast. On arrival I asked if the double room, which was all the web site had offered, could be changed for a twin, no problem. Our room in the newer annex was very large. The twin beds were doubles, everything was very clean and we even had a small balcony overlooking the Wye. Breakfast offered a wide choice from fresh strawberries and melon with natural yogurt to a traditional English, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, kippers to Eggs Benedict. In the evening there was an offer of bar meals at two for £10, we sampled lambs liver, beef pie, cod and gammon. All were well cooked, served with fresh vegetables and represented extremely good value.
The hotel is an old building and we were probably lucky in the room we were allocated. We were very happy with our stay, we quite often take short breaks and this was one of the best value we have had.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

We booked a late deal and for the price we paid it was excellent. Two doubles and one single were all very comfortable. When we asked if the single, room 5 I think, was typical of all their single rooms we were told it was probably the least nice one they have but we thought it was absolutely fine. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms looked new. My only gripe, and it would be a small one, would be the grotty state of the windows in my room (32) the frames had a lot of black mould on them. It didn't spoil my stay in any way but when the hotel can afford it, upgrading the windows would be a big improvement.

Cooked breakfasts were excellent, the coffee was nice too and we had one dinner in the hotel which, again, was very good. My steak was really excellent. All the staff were lovely, the service was very good throughout our stay. We asked to have the radiator adjusted in the singel room, we were told at what time it would be done and when we returned the job had been carried out.

Herefordshire is a lovely county, if you like animals try a trip to the Small Breeds and Owl Centre in Kington. We had a smashing time even thought it was a bitterly cold day in January.

I'd definitely recommend The Royal if using one of the late deals available.

  • Liked — comfortable, clean, friendly, efficient service
  • Disliked — only the poor state of the windows, nothing else
Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Palace Pound, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.