We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palace Pound, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Lovely hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed 4 nights as a family. The service staff were very good and the food very nice. The only minus is the car park is small and you can miss out on a park if you're back too late and the bed was too soft for my liking. The room was surprisingly large. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    247
    101
    36
    28
See reviews for
60
367
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

After having a nice walk round Ross on Wye, we went to the royal for a evening meal, it was my wife idea, to many times I have eaten in posh looking hotels, that are past there best, this can't be said of the royal we had a very enjoyable meal with starters and a bottle of wine. The staff are friendly, the dinning area was busy but we didn't wake long for either our starter or main. The decor of hotel is very good, and views amazing from the patio/ decking area. The whole experience was very enjoyable, and we both felt very good value for money.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a fantastic weekend at the Royal Hotel in Ross-on-Wye. All the staff very friendly and very helpful. The food was top class, very tasty and well presented. This was the reason we had all our food in the hotel. We will come again and we will recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: We would recommend upgrading to get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arriving earlier than the stated check-in time, we were welcomed and allowed to drop off our luggage in our room, before we went into the clean, open bar for a drink. The barman, Paul, a relatively new member of the team, was friendly and attentive. As the hotel is a grade two listed building, there was no lift but the staircase was not steep and was easy to negotiate, even for someone with arthritis. We were allocated a second floor room, with a river view, which was certainly a plus. The only food we ate at the hotel was breakfast, which was cooked to order and without any undue delay. Again, the server was Paul, very efficient and helpful. The only negative was one member of staff at breakfast, who seemed a little sharp and anxious with colleagues and guests. Apart from this incident, our weekend was a success and we will return, funds permitting.

Room Tip: As a grade two listed hotel, if you have mobility problems, ask about suitable room options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I have stayed at the Greene King Vintage Inns hotels before and it seems that their extremely high standards are kept across all of their hotels!
From arrival to departure we could not fault the hotel itself, it's fabulous staff, the lovely quality food and the bedroom which was definitely a room with a view !
The amazingly comfortable bed also ensured we had the best nights sleep in ages which was well worth the reasonable cost of this hotel for the quality go everything it was well worth the £ :)
Breakfast did not disappoint either with a very attentive waiter who said it was his first day so I hope the hotel keeps him as he was brilliant - friendly but just the right amount of attention and service
I cannot recommend this hotel and it's location to explore the beautiful surroundings of Ross on Wye enough

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Amanda
Thank you so much for this lovely review. All the team are really happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. The comments regarding Paul, our newest employee, are particularly pleasing as it shows we are strengthening our already fabulous team. We hope to welcome you again very soon in the future.
Sally & Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We spent our anniversary here in February and had a room with a river view well worth it. The welcome is warm and the staff in the restaurant , bar and at reception are all without exception very pleasant. The breakfast is excellent with hot dishes cooked to order and both the restaurant dinners and the bar lunches are tasty.

Room Tip: select a room on a higher floor with a view of the Wye
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for leaving this positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and felt that the team looked after you really well. Also really encouraging to read your feedback regards the quality of our dinner and breakfast offering. Please come and visit us again when you are next in the area.
Sally & Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I absolutely love the royal and quite a regular - the atmosphere is lovely, great views over the river and local for pub lunches and after work..........

But more and more we go there and have problems with service - its like they have all just started!!

Today for example (and this isn't a one off) We had to wait for service at the bar, then it took forever to put the order through the till, then to apply a discount! A pub lunch used to take a n hour from ordering to eating, today we reached 45 minutes and we still hadn't received our pub food - we had to chase them for it and it wasn't even busy!
I LOVE this place and really hoping this isn't the start of a downfall for service!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest
Thank you for leaving this feedback. We have just started a new menu and are offering new discounts to guests. As a result our till screens have all changed and the team are trying to learn the new layout as soon as they can. We have also employed new team members which were on duty on the day of your visit. Again we will do our upmost to ensure they get up to speed as soon as possible.
We are glad that you love the Royal and hope to welcome you again soon.
Sally & Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Palace Pound, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.