We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff & comfy bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palace Pound, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great staff & comfy bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed overnight on 27th October, for a bargain price of £30 b&b for 2 (you can book direct from Old English Inns website).

The hotel has free parking & is a large old, period building.

The check in was friendly and helpful and the room was very large & had everything you need for an overnight stay.

The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was larger than some hotel rooms we've stayed in.

The breakfast was great (hot section cooked to order) & one of the servers (Patrick) was a proper character, with a larger than life demeanour.

The main bar area is cosy, with great views and we enjoyed the real fire that was blazing nearby.

The hotel is not for those looking for modern, gleaming hotels & is in need of some TLC, but it is a great base to explore Ross on Wye & the surrounding area & the staff more than made up for any tiredness in the hotel (although the staff advised that a refurbishment of most rooms is planned for early 2014).

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of your stay at the Royal. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and you are correct, we are due a full refurbishment the first week of January.
We hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Michelle Coutts
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    215
    101
    34
    27
See reviews for
49
326
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a hen party here in a completely separate room to the main hotel so it was completely private.
There were a few issues with the people that had booked into the room before our party but the staff made up for that with their efforts and commitment to set the room up ready for our function.
To conclude, I would definately recommend this hotel for functions, etc. The hot buffet was good value for the money and very nice.
I haven't stayed in any of the rooms but I know people that have and that recommended it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review of the recent function held at The Royal, I am pleased that you enjoyed your evening. The Buckingham, with it's own bar does make it the ideal place to hold a private function and the buffet is great value for money and offers a good selection.
Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon

Michelle Coutts
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before and liked it very much. As we were celebrating a birthday, I decidedc to book one of the better rooms with a river view. I'm glad I did as the views of the River Wye and the background hills and mountains were fantastic.
I wanted to find out which room Charles Dickens stayed in round about the 1860s but no one could tell me.However it was probably one of the best rooms the hotel could offer such a great man. My guess would be 15 or next door to that.
Enough of Dickens; the situation of th hotel is perfect, being central to the town and highly ,elevated near the church. As for a touring base of the surrounding area, you won't get a better spot.
Breakfast was, as usual very good, and the attentions of the head waiter,Mathew are worthy of a mention. This chap could not be more charming and attentive. He could not be 'flapped' and when the dining room was overwhelmed, he kept his cool and made sure everybody got served; though perhaps after a longer wait than usual, on this particular occasion.
Reception staff we found to be very polite and helpful, as well as chambermaids and other hotel staff.
We didn't dine at the hotel, but next time if we arrive on a Sunday, the excellent carvery will definately be visited by us. In all a great experience. Parking was fine and locating the hotel could not have been easier.
We'll definately stay there again, if only we could get the same room Dickens had. Although, perhaps our expectations are too great.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on the top floor. We had windows all around and found it light and airy. Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Royal, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I sadly cannot offer any new information on which room Mr Dickens stayed in. If he stayed in any of our Superior rooms then he wouldn't have fallen on hard times. The hotel is ideally situated in the town for shopping and sightseeing or you could stay bundled up by our log fire and enjoy the views from there. I will pass on your comments regarding the staff and we hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Michelle Coutts
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Royal Hotel accommodated our group of 50 people and I could find no fault with the service. It was excellent. The situtation of the hotel means great views, lots of riverside walks, handy for 'natty' little shops and good cafe/restaurants. Mainly the plus was the attitude of the staff which was as good as last year. GREAT! (I believe a major refurbishment is underway soon so the 'tired' comments won't apply!) Una R.

Room Tip: Ask for the Bridal Suite !Just ask for a room with a view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of The Royal. We enjoyed your stay almost as much as you did and look forward to seeing you after our planned refurbishment in the new year. The hotel is being refurbished throughout the whole hotel with the only thing that wont change is the fabulous views. Your kind words regarding the staff will be passed on,

many thanks

Michelle Coutts
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The location of hotel was first class and the staff too were very efficient . We were part of a party of 8 and all had breakfast and evening meals in the hotel. We had a twin rom that was very comfortable but needed refurbishing and the view from bedroom window was a fire escape and brick wall so I would try to avoid room 21 if returning to hotel. The rest of our party had fantastic views from their rooms and we all had a fab weekend. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Room 21 looks out onto fire escape and not a scenic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review of your stay with us. The Royal does have spectacular views of the surrounding areas which can be enjoyed our bar area. The hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment at the start of the new year so hopefully next time we see you the hotel will be shining like a new penny.
Kind regards

Michelle Coutts
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just got back from the Royal on Sunday 20th October 13. If people are expecting 5 star treatment then you really must pay 5 star prices!! This hotel is great value and (free parking) the staff bend over backwards to accomodate you. They work so hard and allways have a smile on their face...even after only 5 hours sleep between shifts. Food great value, varied menu and really hot and was delivered very quickly (group of eight of us) Rooms with a view are spectacular and very comfortable. During the cold snaps there was a lovely log fire burning in the Terrace Bar so that did make you feel really cosy. Michelle who is the Assistant Manager really went the extra mile to make you feel welcome. We'd definately go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Royal. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, our Superior rooms and doubles with view do offer fantastic views of the Wye Valley. The views can be enjoyed from the Riverview Bar where our roaring log fire is lit daily now the weather has turned. I will pass on your kind words concerning the smiling staff, they are happy in their jobs which I think shines through! I do hope we see you again soon,

kind regards

Michelle Coutts
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is a little tired but spotlessly clean and the staff should be complimented. Very friendly and willing to help. Stayed in a superior room and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever had.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Royal, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff work very hard to make sure our customers are well looked after and I will happily pass on your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Michelle Coutts
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Palace Pound, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.