We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Week-end at the Royal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palace Pound, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Coventry, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Week-end at the Royal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed last week-end in the Royal Hotel and I just wanted to write a review as we could not fault any aspect of our stay, we have visited many times over the last 10 years, and for the standard of Hotel it is very good. Our stay was excellent; all of the staff work very hard to please, and all without exception are very friendly and always hardworking, nothing was too much trouble and are a credit to the Hotel.
We had a river facing room with quality bedding and the room (& Hotel) was always very warm, some of the previous slating reviews are not very fair for the standard of this Hotel.
Hopefully we will return later in the year as we always enjoy staying at the Hotel which is in a very good standard 3 star Hotel in a great position.

Room Tip: Choose a river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Royal Hotel. I will pass on all your lovely comments to the team, as they like to see all guest feedback and like to see that all the hard work is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    190
    95
    36
    26
See reviews for
37
290
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend in the Royal Hotel and I just wanted to write a review as I could not fault any aspect of our stay, the Hotel was excellent, the food was excellent, the staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. I bought this deal on Town and Country Hotels website for £39.80 for two nights for two - I bought it as a birthday present for my Auntie and was amazed at the quality of the services received.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We returned to the Royal on a special priced weekend and were slightly disappointed. It is a hotel in a superb location with friendly staff all of which work very hard to please you.We entered our room and first thoughts were oh dear. It was dull in need of a refurb and brightening up. Thier was paint missing from around the door trame as was chunks of wood where the door had been forced open, cobwebs on the ceiling, and a good pile of dust on the base of the lamp standerd by the bed and the carpet was grubby. The bed was huge and the room warm with a large clean bathroom. We went down to eat but again felt let down by a blank specials board. We ate of the menu which was the standerd fair nothing special. Thier was a couple of offers available which made it good value. The food was cooked well and you did n't wait to long for it. Breakfast was good and thier was a good selection. So it was excellent value for the price we paid £39:90 for two nights and the staff work very hard to keep things together. All this place needs is a bit of T L C a repaint of the rooms and a bit of maintanance would help a lot. We will return as it is in a lovely town and in a great position.

Room Tip: Try and get one with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Royal Hotel Ross-on-Wye. I am very please to see the team looked after you and made it a pleasant stay. I am sorry to see the specials boards were not up to date, the boards were in the process of being re-painted and I am pleased to say they are now complete with exciting new specials. With reference to the refurbishment of the Hotel this is scheduled to take place later in 2013 and we are very excited about this as it will give the Hotel a new look. Once again many thanks for your feedback.
Peter General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights over the new year having done so the the previous year. While the overall package was a good experience, as somewhere to stay The Royal leaves a fair bit to be desired. Light shades in the dining room were in the same state as previously ie most still had large burn marks and the whole interior has a tired feel about it. We paid for a superior room which was not particularly clean and the shower leaked into the dining room. The biggest let down was the food which for the price was poor. We had per booked meals a month earlier as requested, to be told that one of the dishes was not available, another was not as described ( stuffed mushrooms turned out to be mushrooms with a sauce) and the wine we ordered was also not available. Other than that we had a great time due mostly to the energy of the staff who did their best to hold everything together but had we just being staying for two nights other than the New Year deal, I would probably have had something to say before leaving.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
I would like to thank you for your feedback with reference to your stay with us over the new years eve. I am pleased to inform you that Greeneking are looking to refurbish the Royal Hotel later in 2013 and this will address the maintenance issues, until then we will continue with our ongoing maintenance program to resolve day to day issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel needs some much needed maintenance and a good clean. Cobwebs were hanging from our ceiling and the bathroom needed re-grouting to remove the black mold. I stayed in a travel lodge for a quarter of what this hotel cost me and it was cleaner and better maintained. I ordered food and less than 10 minutes later it was delivered to our table. Quick service but the food was very basic and obviously not fresh. it wasn't awful but for the price I felt ripped off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to inform you that we be undergoing a major refurbishment later in 2013 to give the Royal Hotel a fresh look. I am sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with your meal, I would like to reassure you that all food is cooked to order. Once again thank you for your feedback, as all feedback assists in training and implementing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

we stayed at the Royal for 3 nights over christmas. we had room 16 even with the flooded fields the view was superb.The food was very good and the waiting staff always had a smile.The only down side was the bar closed at 11 even to guests and shut at 9 on boxing day. we would probably stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I would like to thank you for your positive comments about your stay at the Royal Hotel Ross on Wye. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Palace Pound, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.