We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions count!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wilton Court Restaurant

Wilton Court Restaurant
Wilton Lane, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
+44 1989 562569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 63 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Price range: $22 - $61
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First impressions count!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My mum very kindly booked a night away for me and my partner on the bank holiday sunday. I'd look on the website before we left and was really excited knowing the reviews and accolades they'd received. Boy was i disappointed and shocked. The hotel is beautiful with beautiful surroundings. However on our arrival to check in we were, well i would say greeted but it wasn't much of a warm welcome, by who i assumed was the GM?! No 'Hi, how was the travel? Have you come far? First time in Ross-on-wye? Not even how are you! Just straight onto the tick sheet that he presented for the regimental styled check in. He didn't smile once. Apologies if we interrupted your break! From then on we weren't impressed. Certainly not 2 rosette standard food either. I only saw one member of staff smile all evening. A real shame. Would not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    20
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful fine dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked for a Saturday night following a recommendation from the owner of a B&B we were staying at - it was quite a formal experience (which we actually quite liked), the food was amazing and we would definitely recommend to anyone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfort and quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The location of the hotel was excellent for walking and sightseeing, and if in the area again would return to Wilton Court. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful, our room was lovely and very comfortable. The meal in the restaurant was extremely well cooked and tasted delicious. We would definitely recommend Wilton Court to friends and family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food in delightful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Wilton Court and dined both nights in their restaurant. On the first night each course was delicious; homemade breads, smoked salmon, soup, rump steaks cooked to perfection, lovely puddings and a gorgeous house red that was very reasonably priced. On the second night I had the steak again (as it was one of the best steaks I have had in the UK) but I found on the second evening the piece of meat wasn't as succulent, but still good. The breakfasts were magnificent - needless to say we didn't need lunches!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Nice place, shame about the food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It's regrettable that this beautiful venue, with lovely ambience & hard working & friendly staff are let down by the standard of the cuisine. Perfectly acceptable as good pub standard food, it just doesnt merit the prices charged for it, sorry. My partner's starter Mackerel was very dry and the Hake was described as lack-lustre. His medley of sorbet was the best course of the mealMy Hereford steak was cooked as I had requested, a little on the tough & gristly side but unacceptable for an establishment that wants to be known as a gastro-pub. The Eton Mess, was fluffy cream with some strawberries in it - no signature crushed meringue or raspberry sauce anywhere to be seen in it.and weighing in at £6+ for pudding was frankly a disgrace! Coffee with "petit-fours" - turkish delight & Elizabeth Shaw Mint Crisps was equally over-priced. We wont be going back to the restaurant, although we still like the prospect of staying at the hotel....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilton Court Restaurant also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to Wilton Court Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilton Court Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.