We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunky Dorey

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hunky Dorey
Broad Street, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7EA, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 64 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: This is an amazing cafe with great decor, great staff and even better hoem made food. Its kinda French/boutique style with all the usual youd expect on the menu plus more (big portions). This place always seems busy, its familt run i guess. I had a panini, which was £6 and came with salad, pasta, crisps garnish etc - I wasnt starving but ate every scrap. Best daytime place in town.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Popped in today for a spot of lunch - what a lovely place! Had a baguette with Tuna and it came with salad, pasta salad, fab homemade coleslaw and crisps - yummy. My partner had ratatouille with crusty French bread and waxed lyrical. Good service, good atmosphere - would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    5
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“quaint cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

been here 6 times now service excellant i always try to pop in for a coffee and cake , this time it was scone jam and clotted cream lots of calories im afraid but well worth it . scone was still warm from the oven infused with mulled wine and scone was as big as a side plate huge .rearly nice atmosphere well worth a look .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice coffee but jdtwdmwm by no toilet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Popped in for coffee and a cake. Service wary little slow and other tables were served before us who ordered later. Coffee and cake good value and good size. Sadly no toilet so won't be returning as plenty of other coffee shops in Ross where I don't have to hunt down a public loo after my visit.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous and homely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Amazing little cafe! The decor is so cute and unique and the food is just like having tea at your favourite Nannas house! The staff were efficient and friendly and the atmosphere was fantastic. We look forward to a return visit very soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hunky Dorey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Went to Ross for a couple of hours this afternoon and called in with my friend and my chap to have brunch. We all had something different; bacon, cheese and pineapple baguette for me, sausage baguette for my chap and a brie and cranberry (I think) baguette for my friend. The baguettes were delicious and service was with a smile. We had a mocha, a latte and a filter coffee (respectively) and we agreed that the drinks were lovely.

Sadly, no loo and a little pricey but otherwise a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunky Dorey also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to Hunky Dorey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunky Dorey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.