We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Head Hotel Restaurant

Kings Head Hotel Restaurant
8 High Street, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England
01989 763 174
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 67 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: French, European, English, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place To Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

If you are staying in Ross on Wye do eat at this pub/hotel. We were staying in the area and ate here both nights. Ask to eat in the Library, great atmosphere. The food is excellent, and the staff very friendly, we so enjoyed our meal on the Friday evening we booked for Saturday whilst we we there. FANTASTIC!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    73
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good clean pub - good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Had a great meal with friends watching a match. Television not great quality but food and wine excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went to the Kings Head on the recommendation of a local as we didn't fancy the restaurant at The Royal, where we were staying. We were so impressed with the meal we had on the Saturday night that we booked a table for ten for Sunday lunch as we'd arranged to meet up with friends.
Both meals were exellent both in quality and value for money and we were well served by the friendly staff. Good choice of menu with all ingredients from named sources.
Before and after the meals we made good use of the cosy bar and lounge areas where exellent real ale is served.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Veggies Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I ordered the only available veggie dish: roasted vegetable tartlet with goat's cheese. What arrived was wedge shaped pieces of root vegetable on a small and very thin pastry base. No sign of goat's cheese. When I asked the waitress what it was she got the menu to confirm it was what I had ordered. When I asked where the goat's cheese was she pointed (sheepishly) at a slither of cheese sauce spread underneath the pastry. It was awful - no flavour and the wedges seemed to be made from leftovers. I barely touched it. The waitress tried to compensate with an offer of free dessert. The next day I had a veggie meal that was infinitely better in, of all places, a Beefeater!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lautrecs99, Owner at Kings Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your vegetarian main course which was a root vegetable tart tatin, not a tartlet. A tart tatin is of course, as I'm sure you know and upside down tart, hence the Ragstone goats cheese was on the bottom and as described on our menu as a cream. I can assure you we never have and never will use "leftovers" in any of our dishes. Because we are a small restaurant, preparing and cooking everything on the premises, using fresh local ingredients, we do not have a very large menu. We have considered having more than one vegetarian main course and this is something we may well implement in the future. We do have currently three veggie starters and are always willing, given notice, to offer alternatives to all our vegetarian and vegan guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Super supper marred by surly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had reccomendations from two locals that this was the best place to eat in Ross on wye and we were not dissappointed . the food was lovely with two mixed platter starters to share amongst the four of us. Everyone thoroughly enjoeyed their cjhoice of main course and it was all beautifully presented. However the server who was responsible for ourtable was not at all welcoming and did not smile, though one of her colleagues did come over and check that everything with our meal was lovely.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to Kings Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Head Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.