We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Golden Retrievers....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The White Lion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Lion
Save
You added The White Lion to your Saves list
Wilton Lane | Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 37 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Coleford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you like Golden Retrievers....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Dave seems all right but simple questions like "Can we have some breakfast please?" resulted in threats of instant dismissal of staff.

Staff robot had failed in his prime objective to service us with instructions of tent volume and location procedure, a simple explanation that there is a public thoroughfare would suffice, we were not told that anything bigger than a 2-man tent is not allowed due to council restrictions.

Two local patrons then rejoiced in commenting on our tent erection capacities, then proceeded to "....go and tell Dave....."

Next malfunction of the staff robot was the customer cider enjoyment function. When asked what cider you have for sale (bearing in mind this is HEREFORDSHIRE..!!!!!!!!) We were serviced with the error message. " We have Strongbow on Tap".......?

After rebooting the service droid offered the correct choice of local cider, which although suggesting it would be too dry for our tastes, was exemplary....

Breakfast was quite nice actually, a well established family business circa 1929, (the local Wiltion BP garage) where they had a range of hot baguettes cooked before our very eyes, (thanks to Dave and his re-direction.)
.
Unfortunately the pub-bot had not issued us with breakfast protocol (apparently you have to order the night before, also a fire-able offence, for the service droid apparently!)

This is pretty much the only place to stay in Ross with a canoe, meaning you WILL stay here, whatever anyone writes on this board. So all we a are asking is can we be told at point of contact the perfectly reasonable rules of your establishment and not have to feel bad for the staff if they are to be fired the following day, Dave this is ultimatley your responsibility, no?

P.S. We like your Golden Retriever named Bailey, my sister had a dream once that I owned a Golden Retriever called Hillary, please would you rename the dog as compensation. By the way, she seemed to really want one of the Wilton Garage Baguettes

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Every one who phones to book up is told we are not a campsite but a pub with a small stretch of riverbank where we can accommodate 10 small 2 man size tents which is why i was surprised to see a small marque erected on the riverbank. I asked to speak to the person who made the booking only to be told that he was in the pub somewhere ,i then explained why we cant have large tents only for the person who made the booking to pop his head out of the tent { shows how big the tent was you didn't even know he was in there}.
I spoke to the member of staff who took your booking who was as surprised as me that you were not told this as this is the first thing we ask and EVERY person is informed of this.
As for breakfast the member of staff assures me when you arrived they told you where to pitch your tent where the toilets were and if you wanted breakfast to let us know by 9pm,this is so we know how many staff to have on for breakfast duty.
As for the cider ,i really don't remember serving you but strongbow, stowfords, broomefarm cider and broomfarm perry are all brewed in HEREFORDSHIRE depending on taste its your choice.
By the way bailey the pub dog is a BOY so he might get offended calling him hillary 
Its a shame none of this was mentioned on the morning when i was cutting the grass and you came up to ask me the dogs name,
Still as you only live 15 mins drive away and the cider was exemplary we might see you again
cheers
dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    19
    11
    4
    12
See reviews for
23
28
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were a family of five camping with the car while canoeing the Wye. We didn't read these reviews until just before we set off. So being forewarned we obeyed the instructions on where we were to site our tents. We had two nights there and were happy. It is such a good location on that apron of grass in front of the pub and sloping down to the water. In the evening the sun lights up the stone of Wilton bridge and yet we also had sun for breakfast. The shower is just as bad as described according to the rest of my family. I waited till Sterrets which had unlimited hot water. We got soaked the second evening while shopping for groceries in Ross but that was fine because we went into the pub for a drink and to dry out and play Trivial pursuit. The landlord and staff looked after us well. PS washing up consists of a cold tap over a bowl(no drainage)

Room Tip: limited space so you need to book a site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our pub.

Two points that you complained about
1) Shower - please note we are not a camp site and therefore do not have the same level of facilities, this shower was installed as the previous owners ran the camping with very basic facilities - funny they didn't have any negative reviews - we go to the expense of upgrading them to 24 hour toilets and a shower and get negative reviews!!! Over the three years we have had the shower we estimate we have had in excess of 2500 campers so three negative reviews cant be bad!/

2) Yes the washing up area does only consist of a cold water tap - this is because we do not feel digging up the whole patio warrants putting in a hot tap - however had you have asked us we would have been more than happy to supply you with some hot water - simples.

Overall it appeared that you enjoyed your trip and i agree the setting is stunning especially when you get the chance to see the wonderful sunsets.

Hopefully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountshannon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Another year another fantastic trip to the White lion . Yet again Dave, Jacqui and the staff have impressed with the hospitality,food and of coarse beer.I spent a few days in this beautiful place on my 3rd fishing trip and I'm already lookin forward to next year. Keep up the good work lads and thaks for all the hard work especially Dave who put me on the best barbel fishing yet on the river . Cheers Dave see you next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed for 2 knights at end of july 2012, large twin room with on suite bathroom was very comfortably.
The setting was gorgeous with the river wye running through the beer garden.
Dave and jacqui were excellent hosts, very attentive, and if you like your fishing Dave's the man in the no..!!
Would have stayed longer if we had more time.
Back in September hopefully..!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our Scout group (20 of us) camped here on a busy July evening after a day of canoeing. Dave and his staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the facilities provided were excellent - lovely warm shower, clean toilets, great location right next to the river. The food was great too and Dave was kind enough to give the Scouts some extra bowls of chips. If you are canoeing down the Wye and need a great place to camp, I would highly recommend the White Lion. Thank you so much, Dave and the team.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and myself had a long weekend at this hotel, it was pleasant but needs a bit of love and attention. The rooms are ok but a bit tatty, not cleaned really well, small things really like odd cups left on window sill, while the kettle was the other side of the room, cobwebs in bathroom, just things like that, that really could be sorted out.
Breakfast the first day was ok, we were served by the cleaner, who didn't really know what she was doing but she was very nice, it just seemed generally disorganized. Second day the breakfast was much better served very politely and quickly.
All the staff were quiet cheerfull, and you could come and go as you pleased, the setting is very nice as well, so overall nice but average.
Finally the walls are paper thin, and all rooms are very close together so you can hear everything thats going on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment.

I am sorry that your were not fully satisfied with your stay with us - i did notice the cobweb you mentioned and removed it immediately - this old building of ours is plagued with them so we do have to do cobweb patrol on a daily basis.

I am sorry the cups were left on the shelf rather than next to the kettle i have mentioned this to the cleaner. We also checked your room as you stated it was not cleaned very well - i am a bit puzzled on this comment as everything i checked (including above doors/skirting boards etc) were clean.

This disorganised cleaner you mention in your review was a new member of staff - i thought she was fully up to speed but according to your comments she obviously was not - i showed her your review which greatly upset her and as a consequence she has left our employment.

i am pleased to hear that you liked all the other staff and generally had a nice time

kind regards

Jacqui Newman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stopped here for one night over the Jubilee bank holiday weekend as part of a 4 day canoe expedition. The owners were very friendly and nice, immediately assisting us with storing our canoes and showing us the facilities. It is obviously a well used local pub and has a friendly atmosphere, we particularly enjoyed the company of Bailey the house labrador.

We ate dinner in the beer garden overlooking the river, the food was reasonably priced and arrived very quickly - very satisfying.

The only thing that wasn't quite so good were the loos and shower, the actual facilities were fine and certainly more luxurious than some campsites I've been on. But I was a bit disappointed that the shower was £1 for about 3 mins (as a typical female I needed £3 worth of hot water to get through all my faffing...), I understand that it's often normal to charge but when we'd already paid a reasonable fee to camp, it seemed a bit of a shame. 

The other thing was that men seemed to make a beeline for the ladies toilet! Not really the owners' fault, more the etiquette of their customers. There are two toilets but they are just separate cubicles in the same room and chaps seem to prefer the ladies one for some reason. 

That aside the facilities were clean and accessible. It's true that there is only one shower, but you just need to time your visit right, didn't cause us any problems. It was nice they also provided washing up facilities too.

Overall, this campsite is very convenient and I would use it again. And I would definitely like to take Bailey the dog home with me if I could :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion

Address: Wilton Lane | Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The White Lion Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.