We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dining in a Perfect Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Court Hotel

The Old Court Hotel
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
01600 890367
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 64 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Dining in a Perfect Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

A fabulous place to eat, drink and relax. We had lovely weather which allowed us to perfect evening eating and drinking in the garden. A nice menu with specials, not the cheapest option in the area but it was quality food that matched the price. An excellent bar menu with draft and keg selection. A lovely place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    7
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food setting shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Having visit symonds yat we decided to stop the for an evening meal. We sat outside in there lovely garden and ordered drinks and food from the bar the food was nice but the service was horrendous the bar staff were nice but the waiting staff were usless no smiles no is everything ok with your food nobody came to clear our plates and to top it off when we ordered pudding the girl came put the plates down and left the dirty ones there as I work in the same industry I find this awful. All in all nice hotel and food shoddy service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just the right blend for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We visited the butterfly zoo opposite the hotel/restaurant and so took a punt with the family and friends for lunch.
The staff are amazing, courteous, informative and a good mix of humour.
Food is well prepared and a food range for adults and kids all set in a beautiful garden setting.
Well done to all and we shall be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely views at back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice place and food good but views out back were stunning...
Wedding party there on our visit which made it a little noisy

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

With family and friends we spent the afternoon/eve at this stunning Hotel. It has fantastic gardens and set in beautiful surroundings.
We all enjoyed the food and friendliness of the staff. They were extremely busy with a wedding and their guests but they all went out of their way to make sure we had an enjoyable time.

You will not be disappointed when you try the Old Court!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Court Hotel also viewed

 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Old Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.