We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that is best in British B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broome Farmhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Broome Farmhouse to your Saves list
Broome Farmhouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 37 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“All that is best in British B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Lovely to find such a wonderful place. Will stay again. The honest good value farmhouse stay but with a very profession service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    14
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
68
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

recently visited Ross on Wye for a wedding an decided to stay at Broome farm, arrived after a tiring drive to a warm welcome an a cool jug of the farms cider. the afternoon tea my gf had was splendid.(her words) i tried a slice of the cider cake an that was amazing. we ate in the restaurant on the friday evening expecting a mediocre meal but was trully suprised at the quality of cooking and even the service. wines on the list were very reasonably priced as was the food. if anything too cheap. our room had an olde worldy freel to it but had all the mod cons. a very enjoyable stay in such a beautiful part of the world. will be returning asap for a trip down the wye on the canoes an hopefully another stay at Broome farm

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Wonderful food, rooms very pleasant. Service outstanding. Complimentary homemade cider excellent and the homemade cider cake should win awards, delicious. Cannot reccommend enough. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

My girlfriend and I took a trip up the Wye Valley last year - somewhere I used to visit many years back - but rather left the accommodation til the actual trip (unlike me not to book in advance but we took a chance on it). We popped into Ross tourist office and they showed us brochures etc but one of them said we ought to try Broome Farm and gave us the number. I phoned straight away and fortunately they had a room that night. On arrival we were given a friendly welcome with tea and cider! Had a lovely stay there with a wonderful breakfast, friendly service and great surroundings. Later in the year we decided to go back and stayed for a few nights. It's a superb place to go and unwind, soak up the countryside, get spoilt with the host's great cooking and generally get away from it all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

This place is a must if you are seeking a beautiful setting with the most amazing food provided by the owners John and Hilary who are both chefs.

The farmhouse is furnished to a very high standard and spotlessly clean.

Would highly recommend this place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Stayed for a weekend at Broome Farm and would highly recommend anyone to stay here. When we arrived, John helped us with our bags and we were immediately offered tea, coffee or cider! The rooms are lovely, there is a lounge area to relax (look out for the paintings) and the most wonderful patio area overlooking the beautiful countryside, which is stunning.

Broome Farm is only a mile or two away from Ross on Wye, so is within easy reach. If you do decide to walk to Ross, follow the lane that Broome Farm is on which will come out at Wilton, just outside Ross - this is much nicer than walking along the busy A49.

If you are able, make sure you eat dinner at Broome Farm because the meal we had was fantastic, but make sure you don't have any lunch becasue John and Hillary believe in feeding their guests well! Breakfast too is lovely, with cider marmalade, local eggs and cider sausage.

Make sure you visit the cider and perry cellar as there are many different types to choose from and they are more than happy for you to taste them. It doesn't get much better than drinking the lovely cider and perry on the patio in the sunshine...

The Red Lion pub just along the A49 does good food too, and usually have a few real ales on. It is possible to walk, but again, probably wouldn't recommend walking alon the A49. There is a nicer route - ask John or Hillary would will direct you if you want to walk.

There is lots to do in the area, and a quick search on favourite search engine will give you lots of options. Ross itself is worth an afternoon and you must walk along the river, which is beautiful. There are a couple of pubs there too which offer outside seating overlooking the Wye.

Symond's Yat is also nice, but can get very busy. If you go to Symond's yat, walk along the river, over the bridge and back to Symonds's Yat on the other side of the river (about 3 miles) where the ferry will take you across the river (£1 per person). Also worth visting Yat Rock, which has the most amazing views of the Wye Valley and the RSPB are usually there with telescopes and binoculars trained on the peregrin falcons which nest there.

We will visit Broome Farm again as soon as we can!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

What a great place friendly welcome offered coffee tea jug of homemade cider and some homemade cider cake .Nice room creaking floorboards grat bed linen ,flatscreen tv and real milk for a early morning coffee , then the best brakfast one can get bacon like it used to be ,we went to bed smelling home made cakes being baked downstairs . on leaving we bought a cider cake and some cider from the barn ,dont forget to say hello to the Alpacas in the field behind the farmhouse .dont be put off by the single track road leading to Broome farm it is less than a mile from the A40 and only a 2 min drive to the centre of Ross on wye

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broome Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broome Farmhouse

Address: Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Broome Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Broome Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broome Ross On Wye
Broome Farmhouse Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broome Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.