We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilton Restaurant at Castle Lodge Hotel

Wilton Restaurant at Castle Lodge Hotel
Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AD, England
01989 562234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 67 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Wales UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent welcome, food, hosts. Definitely recommend this place. A must of a visit with good atmosphere and ideally situated.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A Mid-week break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We chose this hotel almost at random for a quick mid-week break.
It's a pleasant stay, just outside Ross. Our room had a good view of the river and the spire in the town. Just a short walk away we were able to relax and drink beer at the riverside whilst watching kingfishers and herons.
There was a good choice for breakfast [inc strawberries], a pleasant little bar and a car park just the right size for the hotel.
Thank's guys...we'll try to come back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on Wye
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had the wedding package here for 60 people and the day was perfect in every way. Georgina and her team were great hosts, they were helpful in all our preparations and made sure everything went smoothly. We had several meals here before the wedding which were all good and our wedding meal was exellent and very well presented. We stayed here on the wedding night and family stayed in 2 of the other rooms, all rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the heart shaped toast was a nice touch for us newly-weds. Thanks again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Visiting my parents for the weekend took them out for Sunday Lunch at the Wilton restaurant at the Castle Lodge, it was an excellent meal, very warm and friendly atmosphere, I can't remember the last time I had beef so well cooked tender and tasty. Very good value, and great service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on Wye, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Special Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We took my lovely mother-in-law to the Wilton restaurant at Castle Lodge for her 70th birthday meal - which happened to be on valentines day. The food was delicious and the staff and service made us all feel special - the kids loved the heart shaped chocolate lollies on each side plate! We have since taken business colleagues to the restaurant for working lunches and have always enjoyed excellent service and good food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilton Restaurant at Castle Lodge Hotel also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to Wilton Restaurant at Castle Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilton Restaurant at Castle Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.