We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food,fantastic atmosphere and lovely people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yaks N Yetis

Yaks N Yetis
1 Brookend St | Ross-On-Wye, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7EG, England
01989 564963
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 67 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Holywell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great food,fantastic atmosphere and lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We ate here after checking the reviews on T.A., and we thoroughly endorse them all. Mine host is friendly and smiling, the food is excellent with some of the items that you would get in an Indian restaurant and also Nepalese specialities. Our favourites were the Spicy lamb steak. the Himalayan Stew and the momo.
We went during the week and it was busy then, so I would think that it is essential to book for the weekend.
The only thing this restaurant could do to be absolutely perfect is sell the great Yaks and Yetis polo shirts the boss wears - I'll have an XL please!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    60
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Nepalese and Tibetan food with helpful, knowledgeable staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We visited Ross on Wye just to go to Yaks N Yetis and were certainly not disappointed. Service was friendly and welcoming with advice and recommendations on the dishes to try when requested. For a starter we shared Momo, Tibetan/Nepalese dumplings, which were delicious and well flavoured. Our mains were nicely spicy and we were impressed that you could choose how hot you wanted your dish to accommodate all tastes. If we are in the area again, we will definitely be stopping for lunch or dinner.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a different taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Working for a week in Ross-on-Wye I was struggling to find somewhere to eat on my own that would also offer some vegetarian variety. Yaks n Yetis gave a relaxing atmosphere, loads of veggie variety and some really tasty food. 2 more nights left in Ross and I know where I'll be going for both of them!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A superb meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We visited here on a cold Sunday night just after it had opened for the evening. A fab meal with great flavours. Ross as a town does not have heaps to attract visitors to but this is a must! Keep it up!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic service - lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The staff here are so friendly, and they make your evening well worthwhile. The food was amazing and it's nice to go to a restaurant and see things on the menu that you've never seen before! E.g. The Nepalese bread. Well priced food and wine, and definitely worth a visit!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaks N Yetis also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to Yaks N Yetis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yaks N Yetis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.