We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb. A truly unique monastery conversion. Stunning views and peaceful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flanesford Priory Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flanesford Priory Apartments
Save
You added Flanesford Priory Apartments to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Flanesford Priory | Goodrich, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6HZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely superb. A truly unique monastery conversion. Stunning views and peaceful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A short break for the family, we stayed in the Cider Mill apartment. We were greeted to a wonderfully cosy building complete with wood burner and uniquely refurbished kitchen based around the original mill wheel. All the rooms were exceptionally comfortable and equipped; the property is well-deserving of it's 5 star status.

The homemade cakes left for us in the kitchen were also a lovely (and delicious!) touch that you don't see at other establishments.

We can't wait to come back :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bantry, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked a 4 night break in Coppett Apt. Adverse weather prompted us to sail a day early, contacted the proprietors who kindly offered an additional night at short notice and a super upgrade to Talbot apt at no extra cost. Everything was perfect, clean, comfortable and fully equipped. Miele appliances, Roberts radio and Victorinex knives...luxury!!!!
Super location for exploring, recommend 'The Hostelrie' for food.
A beautiful place to stay I am looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked as two couples and chose the Coppett apartment. As others have described here the Priory is divided floor to ceiling to create the apartments and thus there are three floors containing the main bedroom and bathroom, the kitchen diner and lounge and the secondary bedroom is on the top mezzanine floor. From the lounge room the roof timbers are clearly visible and create the feeling of a mediaeval barn with the exposed stone walls and stucco plastering. Unfortunately for our friends the upper bedroom has an open balustrade and affords no privacy for the occupants from those in the lounge so you need to bear this in mind when you book. The apartment was well equipped with a high quality tv/dvd, deep sofa and woodburning stove. We were expecting to have to use the stove every night but with the electric heaters running as well we were, if anything, too warm. The ground floor bedroom is extremely warm with the storage heater on and we were obliged to turn it right down and to open the window. The bathroom is small but adequate and hot water was copious even with four of us queing to bathe every day. The kitchen is basic but you can prepare meals here although I don't think I would have liked to have cooked for four every night of our stay. Thankfully there are several eateries nearby and we had some splendid meals out so the kitchen was largely used for breakfast duties. As a slight negative our friends who slept upstairs were disturbed on one night by the neighbours television so if you are a light sleeper you may not be happy with the soundproofing. We, on the ground floor found it blissfully quiet. As for the location you are in walking territory and at the time of our visit there had been a lot of rain so the river was flooding and mud was plentiful. I would love to come here in the summer and see it in the sunshine and I think that we may well end up doing that next year.

Room Tip: See my comment above about the privacy issue of the balcony bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were in Kearne apartment for five nights at the end of October. we were comfortable and warm, we loved the old stone features and wonderful high ceilings. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom modern and clean. We went out every day, lots to do in the area such as canoeing (we are a couple in our late fifties and loved it) and walking. The local Hostelerie in Goodrich provides excellent local beer and food - walk towards Goodrich then up the steps on the left hand side of the road, turn right at the top and the pub is on your right after about 200 yards. A great break!!

Room Tip: WiFi not great in Kearne due to the very thick walls but ok in the entrance hall ( and in the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Flanesford Priory. These apartments are described as "luxury", however, they are not my idea of luxury. Yes the priory is an attractive old place tastefully divided into apartments, however, I would expect a luxury apartment to be equipped with a dishwasher, which it wasn't, and the kitchen to be far better equipped than it was. We are not well off enought to eat out every night and I expect basic equipment such as a grill pan to be available in the cooker so that I can prepare simple meals. All we had was a baking sheet, the proper grill pan that must have come with the cooker was absent, ony the detachable handle was evident! There were also only two saucepans and one tiny milk pan, we ended up going to buy a cheap saucepan in the local supermarket.

The bed was much too hard for us but we have learnt to travel to rentals in the UK with a memory foam mattress topper and this went some way to sorting it out.

There was no non slip mat to go in the bath when taking a shower, but, again, on a past stay in the UK we were forced to purchase one because of a slippery bath and this is now part of our kit!

The apartment was rather dark, but as the walls are about two foot thick and the windows the original gothic shape I do understand that it is not possible to add extra windows into a historic building but I did not like having the lights on whenever we were indoors during the day.

The heating was good and the temperature was very comfortable in the apartment, there is a wood burning stove which must make the sitting area very cozy in the depths of winter and there was a good quality television and DVD player provided. Yes, the partition walls were rather thin and noise travelled but as there were not many people staying this did not prove to be a problem but I can imagine when it is full that it could be annoying.

I was emailed and told before we arrived that the Manager was away on holiday so was not expecting reception to be manned, I was given telephone numbers should we have a problem.

The new rennovation - the Cider Press - looked lovely but it is rather too big for two people but I think that would be a better bet than one of the apartments in the main building.

Outside the Priory is very quietly situated near the river within walking distance of a couple of pubs. I doubt we will be returning.;

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We returned today from our short break at Flanesford Priory, we were in the Kearne apartment which was excellent, everything we needed. The bed was too hard for us, but fortunately we had packed a memory foam overlay which sorted out our needs. We loved the Priory and the information pack was the best we have ever seen, especially the write up of the 700 year old Priory, an amazing building with 2 foot thick walls, we felt we had stepped back in time for a while, our American family
will adore it there. We would recommend the Priory to all who want a special holiday. Pat and Steve.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend celebrating our wedding at Flanesford Priory. We hired all the accommodation for our guests and each and every one commented how amazing the setting was. There is so much to do close by - so much so we dragged our guests canoeing the day after our wedding and made full use of the Cider Mill for a weekend BBQ. Kiera was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble, with lots of attention to detail - she even went into the Cider Mill whilst we were all at the church to change our welcome message to reflect our marriage.
There was lots of talk of booking the Priory in the future for our get togethers - with a trip in February planned so we can hopefully experience the Priory in the snow!!
Would definitely recommend these apartments and would 100% recommend others to explore this as a wedding venue! 10/10

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flanesford Priory Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanesford Priory Apartments

Address: Flanesford Priory | Goodrich, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flanesford Priory Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 13th century Monastery, this building has been artistically converted into 10 self catering holiday apartments.Ranging from 2 guests to 8 guests the apartments are uniquely different.High beam ceilings and exposed stone work, combined with modern kitchens and large comfy sofas.The New Cider Press is a luxury 6 person apartment with private patio and views over the River Wye and Coppett Hill.Onsite parking, communal gardens and fishing available on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flanesford Priory Apartments Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Flanesford Priory Apartments Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flanesford Priory Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.