We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of No55

No55
55 Fore Street, Salcombe TQ8 8JE, England
+44 1548 842646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Salcombe
Price range: $19 - $55
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Funky relaxing atmosphere with a modern twist to the decoration colours and fixtures, a welcome warm place to come and eat relax and have a good experience.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Great Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

First I have to declare an interest in this review, I may appear bias as Pete the chef/owner and I trained as chefs together many years ago.
First impressions was of a warm friendly atmosphere, people chatting and the music at just the right level. The staff are amazing, attentive, courteous and very proffesional.
My party was of 6 guys who had all trained with Pete and mostly still working chefs, so no punches were going to be pulled on the standard of food, but we needn't have worried, the food was top drawer, hot, tasty and really well presented.
I can think of no higher praise than to say we were all proud of what Pete and Cheryl have acheived here and wish them continued success.
Well till the next time, thanks for a brilliant night. Shame we missed you at breakfast Pete lol

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl19562009, Owner at No55, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
philoxford1

It was great to see everyone after such a long time.

A very special thank you to you for your great comments, it makes it all worth while and even more so important from a fellow caterer.

We will enjoy the experience again soon, so from myself my wife Cheryl and all the team who are all part of the experience thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    24
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Headley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hugely disappointing & really want our money back!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We're still convinced there was something strange going on the night we visited no. 55 as it was so extremely bad as to have almost been a spoof!

It started well - we turned up without a reservation, on Easter Monday, but because we were just two, were luckily able to get a table...however, this was the only highlight of the evening. We were sat, and then ignored for about 10 minutes. Eventually a waitress said she would bring us a menu "as soon as she had a moment...."... and then having finally managed to order, we waited a whole hour until receiving our starters. The only saving grace was that we were brought our drinks fairly quickly. However, having ordered a glass of prosecco each as an aperitif, and then being brought a whole bottle, which we queried, were told that the bottle was too small...and so we actually gave up fighting and just drank our way through.

And so it continued - the food was really average, especially at this price; when we asked, after 45 minutes, when our food might come, were told it would be another 10 minutes without apology or explanation. Our waitress seemed so unhappy we actually asked her if she was ok, only to be told that she had just returned from 2 months travelling in India and was finding it rather hard to adjust to the hectic nature of the kitchen......personally I don't believe this is an excuse for bad service! We thought that she was genuinely upset, hence asking if she was ok, we did not expect her to be suffering from post-travelling exhaustion.

The rest of the staff clearly had a problem with our waitress as the pointed looks, comments and discussion about our table was clear to both my husband and I throughout the evening. We presume that something extra-ordinary was happening as there did not seem to be a single person in charge that night. I really hope, for No. 55 and for Salcombe, that we were just there on a bad night, but, as parents of young children and therefore not getting out very often, we are rather angry to have wasted our limited babysitting opportunities on a distinctly average meal!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl19562009, Owner at No55, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi ShortTermTraveller

Thank you for your comments regarding your evening with us on Easter Monday.

We are hugely disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience, we pride ourselves on both our service and the quality of our food, as you will note from all the countless comments posted before from all our happy customers.

Unfortunately on the evening in question (making no excuses here) Cheryl front of house was called away up to Reading for personnel reasons, also one of our staff was taken ill during service.Which put undue pressure on the rest of the front of house team. The front of house team were clearly instructed by Peter co owner not to take any further bookings without running it past him, as the kitchen was already under full steam and hence your wait for your food to be served. There was clearly some communication lessons to be learnt here and we have addressed them for the future.

Regarding your comments about the Prosecco, it is clearly stated on our current in house wine list that it is sold as small or large bottles only and not by the glass.

All in all accept our sincere apologies and when you are next in Salcombe please do give us a call and we will arrange for you to have a meal on the house and a large bottle of Prosecco. As we would like you enjoy No55 at its best. We could even organize a baby sitting service for you.
If you want to phone us to discuss any of the other please use the contacts on the web site.
Kind regards
Cheryl & Peter
No55 Salcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food with very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is well worth a visit! The food was excellent and the customer service both friendly and professional.
The menu is very interesting and the prices reasonable for Salcombe!
The atmosphere was warm and inviting and we really enjoyed our evening.
Altogether a very good experience and I would highly recommend No 55 !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl19562009, Owner at No55, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi Judith H

Such kind words from you, its so pleasing for us that we can maintain the experience for everyone.

Its all a team effort @ No55 the front of house is guided by Cheryl who has this natural gift to make the atmosphere what it is.

Its always been our ethos to cook simple top class produce reasonably priced along with our wine selection.

Without our team behind us none of this would be possible so from Cheryl ,Peter and not least the team a huge thank you and we all look forwards to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the sticks, wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amaze-balls!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant, friendly, charming and personal service...and the food wasn't too shabby either! Can highly recommend the antipasti, Vesuvius pizza, seafood linguine and the choc torte and Irish coffee.

Dining at No.55 epitomises all that is good in salcombe, great hosts with a sense of humour- both Cheryl and Peter (chef) made it round to all the tables to check how the night went and great food and service, all in a relaxed and comfortable setting.

We joined them on the eve of their first anniversary, based on tonight, I'm sure we will be back to see them celebrate their second and many more.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl19562009, Owner at No55, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear intabinda

How could we forget you after such a short time, no way. Fantastic comments from you we are all so pleased you enjoyed your experience @ No55, Cheryl and the front of house team work so hard to make it so relaxed and enjoyable for everyone.

We look so forwards to seeing you again in the near future and especially Peter Chef/Patron who really enjoyed having a chat with you and not forgetting all the other fantastic dinners we had in that evening.

From Cheryl,Peter and the team, as without them all of this is not possible a huge thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We had 2 nights in Salcombe - A meal at no 55 was the highlight of our stay.

Great food, served very attentively by friendly staff.

Really couldn't fault it.

Brilliant.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl19562009, Owner at No55, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Tim P
Many thanks from Peter, Cheryl and the team which makes it all possible for your great comments.

Cheryl is a diamond front of house and is really attentive and makes the atmosphere what it is.

We hope to see you again sooner than later and I am sure Cheryl will make it again a memorable experience.

Many thanks again
Peter & Cheryl
Owners No55 Salcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No55 also viewed

 

Been to No55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No55, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.