We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devon Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beera Farmhouse

Save Saved
You added Beera Farmhouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beera Farmhouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Milton Abbot, Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park PL19 8PL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
4 nights for price of 3
Ranked #6 of 20 Tavistock B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Devon Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Another lovely stay for us at Beera, this time with lambs and woodpeckers adding to the enjoyment of the special atmosphere and welcome created by the Tucker family. This place really does have its own brand of beauty and tranquillity!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
24
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What can I add to all the fantastic, AND TRUE, words of praise regarding Beera Farm B&B? We were in England for 8 nights and stayed at 4 B&Bs. Beera Farm was by far the best overall place to stay. Hilary, Robert, and their 3 children couldn't have been more welcoming, accommodating, and caring. There IS one thing that I can add that made a BIG difference in our stay, and that was the feeling that the Tuckers were truly happy to have us in their home. We've met other hosts in our travels who didn't take the time to remember our names or engage us in any kind of conversation. Not the case here....we have made new friends and are eagerly looking forward to next September when we return.

Room Tip: there was no pool or fitness center, but I don't know how to delete them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilary_tucker, Owner at Beera Farmhouse, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
It was lovely to have Gail and Frank stay with us and to show them our farm and the surroundings. Looking forward to seeing them next September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qrendi Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We only stayed for one night but will certainly be back. The setting is so picturesque, Hilary and Robert are exquisite hosts, the food divine and the room very comfortable with beautiful views, lovely bedding and modern facilities, and not only was there complimentary tea and coffee but also lots of fruit and home made sweets,. We were given a very interesting tour of the farm, and an insight into farming life....what else could we wish for.... some more time perhaps... thank you so much, the kids really enjoyed it xxxxx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Yet another wonderful stay for us at Beera. This must be the most relaxing place on earth! The views are breathtaking and the hospitality simply superb. We are quite content to spend our time round and about the farm, birdwatching or simply enjoying the fresh air and the landscape!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here for 4 nights, and I thoroughly enjoyed my time! Robert and Hilary are fantastic hosts, the rooms are modern & comfortable, and very well kept. And the farm is beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was a delightful place to stay. Hillary and Robert were marvelous hosts in their home built in 1856. The Bedroom and Ensuite were very well appointed and the facilities of tea and coffee etc. were excellent. The Rooms had remarkable views and the service was fantastic. The help received from Hillary regarding what to see and where to go was excellent. We went all the way to Lands End and back to Beera via Penzance, Mouse Hole, Port Isaac and Tintagel. We also stopped off on the Jamaica in. All of this could be accomplished in one day so the famhouse is well situated for loads of sites including Tavistock and Launceston. Our stay was comfortable and too short.

Room Tip: We had the bedroom with the 4 Post Bed which overlooked the farm and the valley. Very picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilary_tucker, Owner at Beera Farmhouse, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay here, yes you certainly packed a lot into your time here, hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in England
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I spent last weekend at Beera Farmhouse near Milton Abbot, Devon and it was delightful. When we arrived I was pleased to see how rural the setting was, in amongst the rolling green hills of Devonshire, surrounded by farmland and forest. Despite being out in the wilds, there's a surprising amount to do in the vicinity: National Trust houses, Tavistock, Dartmoor, hiking and Plymouth only a half hour drive. Our room at the farmhouse was spacious, clean and the four-poster bed was large and comfortable. Things got even better in the morning when I was presented with one of the best 'full English breakfasts' I've had (and I've had a few). I had kippers on the second morning which were also excellent. The farmhouse also had a large, comfortable sitting room; clean, modern en-suite bathrooms; and prices that'll make you smile. My wife and I really enjoyed out stay and would recommend it to anyone down in Devon for walks in the Dartmoor area/weddings/tourism.

Room Tip: All rooms have en-suite but request a four-poster for a really comfy night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilary_tucker, Owner at Beera Farmhouse, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
It was great to have you stay here for the wedding at Endsleigh, I do hope you can come again for a longer stay and see more of the lovely devon/cornish countryside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beera Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beera Farmhouse

Address: Milton Abbot, Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park PL19 8PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beera Farmhouse 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Beera Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beera Farmhouse Tavistock, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beera Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.