We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Bedford Hotel to your Saves list
The Bedford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Plymouth Road, Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park PL19 8BB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tavistock
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We weren't staying stay at the hotel but went in during the afternoon of our last day in the town and booked for dinner. We wished we had done so sooner on our three night stay! The hotel literally echoes of the marvellous atmosphere of olde Devon and is a veritable art gallery with paintings, watercolours, magnificent grandiose portraits, and excellent black and white photographs of life in Tavistock and on Dartmoor. The reception area, the bar, every wall, passages, corridors, staircases, and every nook and cranny that we looked into had paintings and pictures interesting and fascinating simply to pause and gaze at.
We didn't have a starter, but elected instead for the main course beef casserole - excellent and melted in the mouth - and a dessert. A most enjoyable meal and certainly the BEST we had in Tavistock during our short stay!. I must also mention the excellent reception and waiting staff.
We will certainly visit the town again soon for the Goose Fair and the Christmas Fair and this time we'll book into the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    102
    34
    18
    7
See reviews for
56
109
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Located in the centre of Tavistock with ample private parking. An imposing building and a warm reception from the staff. The common areas may need a little updating but there is a very comfortable feel about the place. The bar/restaurant areas are well placed with courteous and prompt service from the staff. Bar meals, snacks or restaurant menu prove to have a wide choice at reasonable prices. Lovely to sit by the fires on a cold day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have recently stayed at The Bedford for four nights, half board. This is a lovely old hotel with pleasant happy staff. Our large group of friends where all accommodated here in the hotel and well looked after. The service and quality of very good prepared food was amazing, for such a large number of people. One draw back is that it does not have a lift. We were told it will be installed, January, next year.

Room Tip: Use the front door for checking in. Hotel car park is at the back. There is access to the hotel from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the Bedford for a wedding on the 31st August in the church opposite. The room was clean and comfortable,we didnt have a front facing room as we overlooked the car park. Everything seemed to work except the shower which just ran very slowly, with low pressure.We didnt eat in the restaurant as we were at a wedding reception.The breakfast was excellent. Quality sausages, and good quality bacon.We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A nice hotel. Nice and clean and the rooms where good, I booked a single but got a double. The menu was a bit pricey so we ate elsewhere but I espect it was still good value. Great breakfast (good sausage!). Very good staff. Plenty of room in the car park. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headcorn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in room 34. We liked the room, it had a nice light and airy feel to it and the bed was comfortable, the shower ok, but it would have been brilliant if it was a power shower as although it had a lovely big head it lacked the power of a power shower. We had plenty of hot water.
We felt that it could do with a bit of decorating to freshen it up, paintwork, wallpaper, new bedding and new curtains etc and it would make such a difference.
We would recommend it, but this would make a massive difference to the overall look.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice quiet location away from the main Plymouth centre, Didn't try the evening food as looked abit posh for my tastes, but a few nice pubs nearby with good pub style food, The breakfast was very nice tho.
Plenty of parking onsite, easy to find hotel.
Rooms clean but did have a cold shower one night after staying on top floor room.
Nice helpful staff and free wifi on request and an excellent price

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Address: 1 Plymouth Road, Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park PL19 8BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Tavistock
The Bedford Hotel Tavistock, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bedford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.