We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Cottage B&B

Acorn Cottage B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tavistock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acorn Cottage B&B
Save
You added Acorn Cottage B&B to your Saves list
Heathfield, Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park PL19 0LQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I received a warm welcome from Tony & Jane and went on to enjoy two nights of their excellent hospitality. I stayed in the pink room which was spacious, comfortable, clean and well - equipped. The ensuite is well designed with a powerful shower which made a welcome change from the trickle experienced in other establishments. My two full English breakfasts were very tasty and along with a steaming bowl of porridge set me up well for the day ahead. The local village has an excellent pub which provides good value evening meals. If you're looking for a base from which to explore or need an overnight resting place you won't do better than Acorn Cottage!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a really delightful cottage with large gardens, located about a 5 minute drive from Tavistock. The owners Jane and Tony are very welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was well-equipped and comfortable, and there's a lovely lounge for guests to use as well. Breakfast was excellent - many choices of cereal and hot food (including veggie items), as well as juice, toast, tea, coffee and fresh fruit. There's ample parking onsite, and the area is very quiet. I'll definitely stay here next time I visit Devon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henley-on-thames
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This fabulous B & B is situated three miles outside Tavistock. The hosts Jane and Tony make you most welcome and they go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.
We stayed in the twin room, that whilst not the biggest was very clean with comfortable beds, en suite shower, television and plenty of tea, coffee, chocolate and biscuits. It is set in beautiful grounds which you can use when the weather is fine, or a comfortable lounge is also available.
There is an extensive breakfast menu available to choose from and this can be taken at your leisure up to around 9.30 am.
Tavistock is a lovely town and is a perfect location for exploring both Devon and Cornwall. We managed to see most of Dartmoor, as well as going down to St. Michaels Mount and Land's End. An attraction worth seeing is Lydford Gorge a National Trust property about 5 miles away from Acorn Cottage. It is essential that you wear sensible shoes when visiting as the paths are narrow and damp but the place is well worth a visit.
All in all we had a fabulous 5 days in Devon and Cornwall and our stay at Acorn Cottage made it all the more memorable.

Room Tip: If you want a few days away from it all Acorn Cottage would be hard to beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I chose this Bed & Breakfast as I was travelling to Devon for a wedding. The house is in beautiful grounds and you are made to feel welcome from the minute you arrive. We stayed in the Pink bedroom which was cute and the room had tea, coffee and biscuits. The owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome and you can choose what you want from breakfast. They even noticed I was a vegetarian and cooked me some Quorn sausages!! A final act of kindness was the owners emailing to say I'd left one of my belongings behind and that they would be posting it back. This was a lovely stay and I would gladly book in to Acorn cottages again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawbirch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Arrived late Friday night and left very early on Saturday morning, but enough time to realise how welcome we were made by two very nice people, even my children (9 and 7) commented on how nice Jane and Tony are, Great breakfast! would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Normally always stay in hotels, but thought we would try a B&B for a change and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. On arrival tea and cake were offered, which was a lovely touch after a long drive. Stayed in the pink bedroom which was clean and well presented. Nice selection on the welcome tray. Lovely breakfast. Three miles outside Tavistock in a lovely country location. Made to feel very welcome and nothing too much bother. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

A few minutes drive from Tavistock the location of this B'nB is excellent for Dartmoor and especially Lydford Gorge, with a great pub for food nearby (the Blacksmiths Arms in Lamerton).
Room was spacious with tea/coffee and kettle, an ensuite shower, and a really great English breakfast. You really could not ask for more, Jane and her husband were wonderful hosts. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acorn Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Cottage B&B

Address: Heathfield, Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park PL19 0LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Cottage B&B is a 17th-century cottage in a large garden in the countryside, 3 miles from Tavistock and very close to Dartmoor National Park. We offer storage for bicycles and we are on the N27 Cycle Route. Dartmoor offers many beautiful walks for walkers. There are National Trust properties, gardens and other attractions to visit nearby. We offer a warm and friendly welcome to guests along with tea and homemade cake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acorn Cottage B&B Tavistock, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorn Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.