We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth A Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie

The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie
3 Market Road Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0BW, England
+44 1822 615665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 56 Restaurants in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A contemporary restaurant in the centre of Tavistock idyllically situated next to the river. The restaurant is light and modern inside and has outside seating on the riverside terrace. Open all day, everyday serving the full menu all day.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant with an excellent outside seating area right beside the river it is often a job to get in during the rush hours because their food is very good and it is such a popular eating place however it is well worth waiting for a table or going back again a little later on it is good value for money and there is a nice choice of food freshly cooked.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen854, Owner at The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your visit to our restaurant and everyone at EastGate very much appreciates that you have taken the time to write such a lovely review. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    45
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A riverside gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Visiting the town for a short mid-week break we ate here twice. Late afternoon when we had just arrived. It was close to closing time, yet the charming young waitress who served us was most welcoming and jolly. We just had soup - delicious! - because we had priorly booked elsewhere for dinner in the evening. We spotted fish pie on the menu so made a point of going back the following lunchtime.
Glad we did! An extremely pleasant place to eat. The abundant waitressing staff were all very welcoming and friendly - including the young lady who was clearly a bit under the weather that day but soldiering on with a warm smile. We wish her well! A bold sign above the kitchen door declared they were the best waiting staff in all of the town's eateries. We wouldn't argue with that - they were all very pretty too!
We intend to visit the town again very shortly and look forward to eating here again. The fish pie especially was really very 'Moorish.'
A bientot!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen854, Owner at The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and your very kind comments about all our waiting staff. They were so pleased to read your very flattering comments and it is always lovely to get such warm praise from customers. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Tucked behind the Pannier Market. This little gem of a restaurant is a credit to the Devon Tourist industry and encourages future visits by the quality and standard of both the service and food.Freshly prepared food in generous portions leave one simply wanting to sit by the river and reflect that your payment for the meal was well spent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen854, Owner at The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Wow thank you! To receive two such wonderful reviews (see previous reviewer) on the same day was amazing. It is so lovely for the whole team at EastGate to receive such a complimentary review and it does mean so much to us so thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful little restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Visited Tavistock for first time and on a lovely sunny day. Wanted somewhere informal with outside seating and good food. Came across The East Gate shortly after visiting the Pannier Market.

Lovely outdoor courtyard with summer flowers made it very pleasant. Staff were friendly and efficient. The food was delicious and great value. Two course lunch with drinks £35 for two of us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen854, Owner at The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We were so pleased that you found us on your first visit to Tavistock and that you were able to enjoy our patio on a lovely sunny day. It means a great deal to us that you enjoyed your visit and found us good value for money and have been kind enough to write a review. Thank you so much, we very much appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious food, with exemplary service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have visited this The East Gate on a number of occasions, when visiting Tavistock. Each time, we have always been impressed, by not only the fresh and very delicious food, but by the very professional and friendly staff. The owners should be justly proud of this little gem of a restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen854, Owner at The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is always wonderful to get such amazing feedback. We are very proud of all our team and try to tell them regularly but it is always a boost for us all when customers feel that we have got things right as well. Your comments are very much appreciated and mean a great deal to us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.