We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay with a sense of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages to your Saves list
Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages
Quant Park, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 OJQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kenilworth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic place to stay with a sense of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a lovely week with our two children (13 and 11) all the mod cons provided, with super showers, beds and bath, yet you could be stepping back in time to when the trains zipped past. Fantastically restored with great attention to detail. We really enjoyed being a short walk from the centre of Tavistock whilst feeling like we were in the country. Thank you Colin and Jenny for a great week.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selfcateringcottages, Owner at Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi you only left on Saturday so thank you very much for your prompt review. Yes the station has the benefits of feeling as if you are in the country but only minutes from the centre of a market town and of course the cottages are atmospheric of times gone by. Perhaps we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Absolutely delightful place to stay. Jenny and Colin were fantastic hosts also, a wonderful warm and welcoming couple. Cottages are beautiful and full of wonderful historic architecture - beautifully decorated and very cosy and luxurious. Great to be able to pop down into Tavistock also without having to jump in the car. Will definitely visit again. Thanks again Jenny and Colin for making our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: excellent stay - you will glad you selected The Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selfcateringcottages, Owner at Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your visit, and you have even booked again for later in the month, so look forward to seeing the family again then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The oven didn't work, dishwasher was broken, the upstairs shower constantly flooded and dripped through to the downstairs, the wifi didn't work all week and no basic cleaning tools are provided so you either crawl round with a dustpan and brush or leave the dust to build up. The promised hamper was a cake and 2/3 of a bottle of pre-opened cheap olive oil. The owners, who live next door, watched our every move - Jenny would be watering the plants as we arrived each evening no matter what time and would stare openly into the car and they would then watch as we ate at the front. We were there on one of the 5 hot days this summer and 4 adults chatting quietly were told to move inside at 11pm - this is for £1,500 a week! And as for the doormat; they have inexpertly laid sticky tarmac and told us to remove shoes - we assumed after wiping our feet on the mat. They, however, had different ideas and because we 'ruined' the doormat they chucked it away and took £75 from our bank account. Go to Tavistock, it's beautiful - don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selfcateringcottages, Owner at Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Hi
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately your TripAdvisor review doesn't reflect the glowing one you left in the Visitor's book in the Refreshment Hall. You failed to mention in your TripAdvisor review that numerous guests stayed in the cottage above the 6 that the house caters for. The wi-fi, cooker and dishwasher did and does work! You were provided with a hoover. The shower leaked once and that was dealt with immediately. Reference the welcome hamper, our other guests comments cover that. You were asked to reduce the noise in consideration of our other guests staying at the station. You also failed to mention that you were charged for additional cleaning and washing to bring the house back up to the standard our guests expect. As you commented you stayed here when it was hot, hence the garden needed to be watered but we didn't have a chrystal ball so that we could deliberately time it with your return to the station!
Our other guests probably would have liked to have used the garden as well, however, you and your many guests took the garden over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We celebrated our friends birthday with a very happy stay at the Porters Lodge. Jenny and Colin greeted us warmly on arrival,showed us around the lodge and gave us lots of information on the area.The lodge is renovated to a very high standard, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean.The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms very stylish. We appreciated the thoughtful touches like fresh flowers and a lovely hospitality tray (with delicious lemon cake) left out for us in the kitchen.It was our first visit to Tavistock which is a delightful market town and a very good base for exploring the surrounding area. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selfcateringcottages, Owner at Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Hi I'm glad everything went as planned with the birthday surprise for you all. It was good to see you get lots of use of your cycles. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were recently looking for a base from which to explore walking trips on and around Dartmoor

The Railway Cottages are an excellent spot from which to do this , Tavistock being one of the most significant towns , that circles the Moor.

The Cottages themselves are less than five minutes walk (and I mean walk - not a gallop!) from the town which has a varied array of shops , eating and drinking establishments to keep one happy.

No doubt many visitors to the cottages will be steam/rail enthusiasts well versed in the social history of steam , and curious to see the job Jenny and Colin will have done in returning the cottages to "first class " status.

Independent of that I don not think you will fail to be impressed by the high standards that are brought to all elements of your stay.

All the rooms , fittings and decor are to the highest standard and Jenny and Colin welcoming but unobtrusive in providing any advice/guidance required on the local area and amenities.

I have no hesitation in recommending these cottages to any group looking for elegant rest and relaxation within beautiful surrounds in a picturesque setting

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Wow thank you for this fabulous review and so pleased you enjoyed the station, Tavistock and walking on Dartmoor. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Four of us stayed in the Porters Lodge for my husband's significant birthday. Jenny was so helpful from the initial booking, as I wanted to keep the location a secret. We were not disappointed. The cottage was beautifully appointed and there were lots of nice touches, such as dressing gowns and a little hamper on arrival. Tavistock is a super place to be based. We all enjoyed the pannier market and cycle rides (strenuous) on Dartmoor. This is a perfect location for those with "steam" as a hobby, especially with the Dart Valley and Bodmin Preserved Railways within driving distance. We enjoyed a special birthday dinner travelling on the Bodmin line. A great place for a long weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
I'm glad you all enjoyed the station and Tavistock and that the birthday celebrations went to plan. I look forward to seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We booked all three cottages for guests at a family wedding. All the guests found Jenny and Colin very friendly and more than helpful. The standard of the accommodation was first class and our guests wanted for nothing. Some guests took advantage of extending their stay and some certainly took advantage of the lovely walks nearby. The accommodation was flexible in that our guests in turn invited us to a BBQ on the old station platform, covered by the old station canopy. The views were lovely across the moors and there was more than adequate parking outside each cottage. Our guests were from Canada, Ireland and the USA as well as the good old UK and all were delighted to have such a hospitable welcome and comfortable surroundings. We would certainly recommend and use the Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages again.

Room Tip: All cottages are renovated to a high standard and it is only your personal preference as to style of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and for taking the trouble to send us a thank you card, following your son's wedding in Tavistock.
Living on site is an advantage to ensure our guests are welcomed and any questions are dealt with promptly. We looking forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages

Address: Quant Park, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 OJQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at these luxury holiday cottages in Devon where you can sense the atmosphere of days gone by. Experience the ultimate in 5 star award winning luxury self catering holiday cottages in Tavistock, Devon. Owners live on site to welcome guests. Views over Dartmoor and only 5 minutes from the centre of the old market town. Ample parking. BBQ under the platform come rain or shine. Visit local NT properties and great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.