The oven didn't work, dishwasher was broken, the upstairs shower constantly flooded and dripped through to the downstairs, the wifi didn't work all week and no basic cleaning tools are provided so you either crawl round with a dustpan and brush or leave the dust to build up. The promised hamper was a cake and 2/3 of a bottle of pre-opened cheap olive oil. The owners, who live next door, watched our every move - Jenny would be watering the plants as we arrived each evening no matter what time and would stare openly into the car and they would then watch as we ate at the front. We were there on one of the 5 hot days this summer and 4 adults chatting quietly were told to move inside at 11pm - this is for £1,500 a week! And as for the doormat; they have inexpertly laid sticky tarmac and told us to remove shoes - we assumed after wiping our feet on the mat. They, however, had different ideas and because we 'ruined' the doormat they chucked it away and took £75 from our bank account. Go to Tavistock, it's beautiful - don't stay here.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately your TripAdvisor review doesn't reflect the glowing one you left in the Visitor's book in the Refreshment Hall. You failed to mention in your TripAdvisor review that numerous guests stayed in the cottage above the 6 that the house caters for. The wi-fi, cooker and dishwasher did and does work! You were provided with a hoover. The shower leaked once and that was dealt with immediately. Reference the welcome hamper, our other guests comments cover that. You were asked to reduce the noise in consideration of our other guests staying at the station. You also failed to mention that you were charged for additional cleaning and washing to bring the house back up to the standard our guests expect. As you commented you stayed here when it was hot, hence the garden needed to be watered but we didn't have a chrystal ball so that we could deliberately time it with your return to the station!
Our other guests probably would have liked to have used the garden as well, however, you and your many guests took the garden over.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.