We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue for my mothers 90 th birthday celebration!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnsgate Manor House Restaurant

Barnsgate Manor House Restaurant
Herons Ghyll, Uckfield TN22 4DB, England
01825 713366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 56 Restaurants in Uckfield
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for my mothers 90 th birthday celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I would highly recommend Barnsgate Manor for any celebratory occasion. The manager, Natalie, who arranged my mothers 90th birthday celebration with me, was most helpful throughout. The setting was fantastic, as we had drinks on the patio outside and then the meal inside, before going outside again for coffee. The views are amazing and the whole setting perfect. The food and drink was extremely good, the service was great, and all the staff were really helpful, especially Oliver who took as many family photos as we requested!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not the best in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Lovely surroundings but rather dated restaurant and facilities, a bit depressing overall. Food is quite good though and could be a lovely place to eat if more was spent on decor and overhauling the outside chairs which are falling to bits and in a dangerous condition.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westsussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a lunch meal here today .... WOW it was lovely and what a great veggie choice we will return very soon

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good home-cooked food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Barnsgate is a great place to go for good home-cooked meals, great service, and a beautiful setting. The food is all locally sourced and seasonal. The menu is deceptively brief but offering a great choice of meat, fish, and vegetable mains as well as starters and puddings. The staff make a person feel as if they were there just to serve them--nothing seems to be too much to ask and all with pleasant conversation and a smile. Set in the rolling countryside and wood of East Sussex--great to sit inside and look out on the scenery but perfect if the weather cooperates and the guests can sit out on the sunny terrace. Prices are reasonable and actually very good considering the quality and the quantity of food. Good for a perfect day out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Ignored!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Decided too stop by for a light lunch and drink. Upon entering we were greeted by a waiter who eyed us up and down! It was a bright sunny day so we sat with views over farm and land beyond, given a menu and then promptly ignored for 15 minutes. We had explained we did not want a full Sunday dinner just something light but the menu didn't accommodate our choice. The only thing considered light was the soup which would have been fine. We had asked for 5 minutes to browse the menu and this was ok. However despite not being busy and several waiters meandering around, no one came to take our order or offer a drink, so we decided to leave. Having told the waiter why on the way out he simply shrugged his shoulders as if to say "oh well". So unfortunately never got to try the food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnsgate Manor House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Barnsgate Manor House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnsgate Manor House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.