We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outing for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebell Railway

Bluebell Railway
Sheffield Park Station, Uckfield TN22 3QL, England
+44 1825 720800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Uckfield
Type: Scenic Railroads, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1959 and still steaming! We run steam trains between Sheffield Park and East Grinstead on over 200 days each year, and are open even when no trains are running.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great outing for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a wonderful find. I went with 5 children aged 14 months to 7 years old and a dog! Everyone had a fun day. Staff are amazingly patient with the children and informative. It was a special Punch & Judy day so the children had great laughs watching their first Punch and Judy show. We went on a sweltering hot day and were pleased to have bought a picnic as there is a nice shaded picnic area at the Sheffield Park station. Luckily we were also able to purchase ice creams! Last time I visited we were able to let the children run around at Horstead Keynes and buy ice creams. On this occasion there was just a very small area not really suitable for younger children - this is due to planning application problems with the council. So not really worth stopping. Car park at Sheffield park was difficult to park in - very busy - shame car spaces are not marked out . But overall a great visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    105
    18
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had read about the bluebell railway so got on to their website for more details and decided to get in the car and go ,we followed the directions given on the site and found it with no trouble , it was £44 for a family ticket which means that you can ride up and down the track all day if you want and get off at the stations to explore , you can go in to the engine sheds and see all of the trains they have from working ones to renovation , the staff are very friendly and helpful and at Sheffield park station you have a museum also a shop and a restaurant with home cooked food hot or cold , now I am not a big train fan but I did enjoy myself and so did everyone else we spent around 6 hours there , it is well worth the money for what you get , and will go back

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely little railway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the second time we have Visited the railway, which has just finished an extension to East Grinstead. I think the journey is much better in the spring and autumn

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felpham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great day out for the family and railway enthusiasts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

In the last few weeks We have been to the railway twice, firstly arriving at the new station at East Grinstead, then on the second occasion driving direct to Horsted Keynes.

It is now so easy to get to he railway from London with trains from Victoria to East Grinstead and then a a few hundred yards walk to the Bluebell Railway station. We arrived on Fri 16th August at lunch time and the railway was very busy with families etc. but not uncomfortably so. We still found seats easily.

The steam trains are great and give a flavour of how railway travel used to be!

At Sheffield Park, the national trust gardens are probably about 1/2 mile away, with a footpath beside the main road. Someone commented that you have to walk over fields...... No you dont! Its a footpath along side the road.... The gardens are also worth a visit.

That evening was the Bluebells Real Ale and Jazz, where you have a ride on the railway, a choice of 8 real ales, bangers and mash to eat and a jazz band on one of the stations. Well worth it.

Overall its a great da out - go! You will enjoy it

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Chuffed to bits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A thoroughly great day out on Aug.13th. We had a wonderful trip from E. Grinstead to Sheffield Park and back in an observation coach, and enjoyed everything about the Bluebell Line. The staff were friendly, informative, and courteous, and everyone we met was good humoured. They made our day, along with all that the railway has to offer. Nostalgia in abundance! The restoration of the stations is amazing, the locos too. The sheer hard work and dedication that has gone on, and is still going on, deserves enormous admiration. It's easy to see what work has been done. Much more difficult to appreciate is the scale of what must go on behind the scenes in the way of maintenance and refurbishment.
We were especially impressed with the locomotive museum at Sheffield Park. All very laid back, enabling us to see at close quarters locos, some of them very large, without being constantly told 'don't touch!' We came away with a new-found respect for the drivers and firemen who regularly crewed these leviathans at 80 or 90 mph in days gone by. ( I think 25mph is the fastest allowed on the Bluebell Railway)
For a family this isn't a cheap day out, but it is excellent value for money. If you come away disappointed, then there's something wrong with you, not the Bluebell Railway! Go there, it's great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluebell Railway also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Wisborough Green, Billingshurst
Bodiam, East Sussex
 

Been to Bluebell Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluebell Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.