We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa special” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebell Railway

Bluebell Railway
Sheffield Park Station, Uckfield TN22 3QL, England
+44 1825 720800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Uckfield
Type: Scenic Railroads, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1959 and still steaming! We run steam trains between Sheffield Park and East Grinstead on over 200 days each year, and are open even when no trains are running.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Santa special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Santa special..... My grand daughter is 18 months old and there were 4 adults in our group, when Santa got to us on the train he spoke in baby language and wished us Happy Easter! Where is the christmas sprit In that? We thought it was going to be a magical day but I feel disappointed and let down!
We had a simple meal in the cafe,it was awful, all dried up and inedible.
The staff on the train were cheerful and looked lovely in their uniforms and the short train ride was fun.
It was a Lovely sunny day which was nice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    105
    18
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A lovely way to spend an afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife took me to the Bluebell railway in East Sussex to dine in their Pullman carriage pulled by a steam engine. What a delightful way to spend an afternoon. We arrived at 11.00 to give us time to wander around the 1920s style station including the fascinating engine sheds and museum and then a pint of Harveys ale in the Bessamers Arms on the platform. The whole station was alive with visitors - many of which were children keen to get on their Santa Special train complete with Elves and a present from Santa. The Golden Arrow dining special was called on the tannoy and we were greeted as we boarded in the manner of the grand trains of old. Our Pullman carriage Christine was beautiful with wood paneling decorated with marquetary and the service staff were dressed in fine uniforms. Soon we are asked what aperetifs we required as the train pulled out of the station with a toot of the whistle. We ambled slowly up the line towards Horsted Keynes and watched fascinated by the steam and smoke getting caught up in the cold woods along the track. Lunch was served and proved to be very good with the beef and the cheeses outstanding. The service was friendly and efficient although do remember to ask them to warm the red wine as ours arrived a bit too cold. Fellow diners were also friendly and chatty and the time passed far too quickly. Finishing off with coffeee and mince pies we were amazed to notice that it was already 4.30pm. An excellent day out and we thought value for money at £65 per head.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A great ride on a steam train”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My family and I visited the Bluebell railway on a winter's day, it was great fun and everyone enjoyed themselves. Due to the cold weather the steam engines were very atmospheric pumping out steam and smoke all the time. We had sandwiches in the restaurant and drinks in the buffet on the train. Overall the railway had great atmosphere. There were two trains running, one of just two coaches that was packed and ours of half a dozen which was half full and had the buffet.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines Upon Thames
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Bluebell - Rosie Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A visit to The Bluebell Railway is not just for the 'railway anorak' but for anyone wanting to to step back into the days when rail travel was both a joy and a great adventure.

All of the stations are beautifully restored to their original look and you may have seen them on a number of TV Dramas such as Poirot.

The staff are so friendly and helpful and very knowledgeable about the line and the world of steam - have a chat with them.

The special features offered such as their Pullman Special and the Sunday Lunch at Sheffield Park are a great start to a ride on the lines.

I recommend you go to their web site http://www.bluebell-railway.co.uk/ to find out more about this lovely attraction.

We have been to the Bluebell many times and have never been disappointed - always somethingnew to see and many things to enjoy again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was my first visit to the Bluebell Railway and I went with my partner for dinner on a Saturday evening. The staff were attentive and friendly, the food and service very good. We eat in the "Christine " carriagewhich had been renovated to a superb level. Well worth a visit and I intend to enjoy the surroundings again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluebell Railway also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Wisborough Green, Billingshurst
Bodiam, East Sussex
 

Been to Bluebell Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluebell Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.