We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon Inn - CLOSED

Dragon Inn
204-206 High Street, Uckfield TN22 1RD, England
01825 764 009
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
east sussex
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Had fair meal here recently. Nothing to rave about , just ordinary Chinese food. Service was good though and staff friendly. Will definitely return but wouldn't go there for a special meal.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, Kent.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Approach with CAUTION?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Don't be fooled by the 'draught' pumps - they are NOT in use but the host forgets to tell you this! If you order a pint of lager, you will be given 2 bottles of Chinese beer @ £2.80 each =£5.60 for a pint? He claims that he's waiting for the 'people' to come and take them away (the pumps) but you just know that this is nonsense! He also said that he 'told us this' but i can assure you, that He didn't!
A 10% service charge is added to the bill regardless - not optional!
Food seemed to come to the table "too" quickly, as though the microwave was HIGH powered?
As a recommendation, i personally would not! My partner would definately NOT, as he was as sick as a dog when we got back to our hotel in Fletching. Please note: this was not due to the fact that he had too much to drink - he only had 2 x pints!!!
Think twice if your "that" desperate for a Chinese meal?

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uxbridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best tasting chinese meals I have eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Visited Friday 9th March as we were staying at the East Sussex National and fancied something different.
Had the Hors Doeurves and duck.
I have eaten at a lot of high end chinese restaurants and the Dragon Inn beats them hands down for flavour.
Very friendly manager staff.
Manager even asked if I was sure about leaving so much as a tip. It was only £12.00. Even with the tip the meal only came too £60.00, this included appetisers a main course each for me and my partner drinks and coffee.
Thanks for great meal, we will be back next time we are at the ESN
Cliff

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely little chinese only sit in, in uckfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

we go here a lot, its a small chinese, only sit in one in uckfield, lots of interesting options especially for veggies and vegans, good service, not too expensive.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Could be better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We eat at this Chinese restaurant several times a year because there is no local competition (only takeaways) unlike the many Indian restaurants and have found that although the food is usually good, the service has deteriated somewhat over the years. It used to be very busy but time and time again it's just us eating alone. The last time we ate there the staff had changed and the service was very off hand. No smiles or welcome. Also we found it very hard to understand them as their English was poor. The added service charge is a rip off because if the service is bad do you ask them to take it off? We need another better Chinese restaurant to maybe give it competition because after last time we will not be back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon Inn also viewed

Uckfield, East Sussex
Uckfield, East Sussex
 
Uckfield, East Sussex
Uckfield, East Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.