We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shepherds Hut

Shepherds Hut
High Street | Ewelme, Wallingford OX10 6HQ, England
1491 836636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 48 Restaurants in Wallingford
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a lovely evening here and the food was fantastic. The menu is quite small but I fancied everything on it and it was reasonably priced. Hosts are great - we were very well looked after. Would recommend for a cozy, pub grub evening in a great location. Recommendations, Squid or Whitebait starter - Crab tagliatelle or Chicken Parmigliana for main course.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Four of us (2 couples) went to the Shepherds Hut for lunch on Good Friday, after a walk centred on this charming village.
There was quite a long wait for the food because they were very busy and only one person in the kitchen but the charming waitress (manager?) kept us informed and we were happy to pass the time drinking.
The menu is very varied and caters for all tastes with everything from bar snacks to a full meal. Almost every dish comes as full-size or half-size - what a great idea!
We all had whitebait or squid to start and then 3 had Chicken Parmagiano and I had the last remaining Sea Bream. Everything was cooked to perfection and the chips were to die for!!! Only 2 could manage a dessert. Apple crumble with ice cream for me, chocolate bread and butter pudding for Martyn. The coffee was also superb and the wines were excellent - and every thing was good value!
Highly recommended!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“always a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Often eat here as it's right around the corner, we've always had a great meal. A decent menu with plenty of options. Staff are always really friendly.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We went there for dinner with my husband first time. The food and service was great. We will go there again...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Good menu,character staff and good beer.The menu caters for all sizes(portions&people!)and freshly prepared.If you want to be left alone you will have no problems or you can engage the redoubtable Linda in badinage

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepherds Hut also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Shepherds Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shepherds Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.