We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIng Dong Delightful!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Six Bells On The Green

The Six Bells On The Green
16, The Green South | Warborough, Wallingford OX10 7DN, England
+44 1865 858265
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Wallingford
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: English, Bar, Gastropub, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Six Bells at Warborough is a beautiful English Pub dating from the 1600's in the heart of South Oxfordshire. All are welcome at The Six Bells. The bar is a friendly place where you can spend time relaxing in front of our open fire while unwinding after a long day or just watch the world go by with a glass of your favourite..... Families are welcome and feel free to bring your dog into the bar area too!
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“DIng Dong Delightful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Popped in here for an impromptu mid-week lunch with family. Immediate impression was of a clean, inviting and well cared for establishment. We were greeted by cheery girl at the bar and offered a table.
The menu is large enough to accommodate all tastes and we went the traditional route with ham, egg n chips and fish n chips. Perfect all round. They offer a small and regular portion size on some dishes which is excellent for smaller appetites.
This is a lovely unspoilt village pub ( I used to frequent as a twenty something) and I can't wait to visit family and return there. Keep up the good work 6 Bells.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    0
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

An interesting and exciting menu, clearly made with passion, the food is flavourful and great quality with a complementing wine list. The service is personal and friendly, the owner makes sure she shows her face and that everyone is happy. The decor is tasteful and the setting is idyllic. You couldn't ask for more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic food and brilliant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had an absolutely lovely time here. Such a gem. Food was great, and the bar staff were charming! I would recommend the leek and gorgonzolla pasta bake!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Really great food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We found 'The Six Bells' by chance and stopped for lunch on a Saturday. It is a small traditional pub with a nice log fire. We were lucky and got the last available table - others that came in after us had long waits on their hands. The food and service were fabulous. We had fish & chips and sausage & mash. We loved the fact that you could choose a small or large portion, and that the food was piping hot when served. Everything tasted great and we thought it was good value for money. The staff were very helpful and friendly and were very accommodating when I asked for more gravy. We highly recommend a visit to this place - but it will not suit you if you don't like dogs (there were quite a few inside, including one off its lead), or if you are claustrophobic (it was really busy so there were people standing all around us whilst we ate and drank).

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If only all pubs were like this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We rolled up on a Wednesday lunchtime after a very cold and wet walk. And this place was perfect to warm us up. Well kept Brakspears, log fire, a menu with lots of choice - it included sandwiches and smaller portions as well as gastro pub food. The fish & chips and the sausage sandwich were both excellent. The chips were perfect, crisp on the outside and fluffy inside. Because of our strenuous exertions we had to have a pudding and we both enjoyed the lemon curd bread & butter pudding.
The staff were very friendly. The clientele included regulars popping in and out, so it felt like a proper old fashioned local.
The pub itself is thatched and overlooking a pretty green.
All in all, a perfect visit. We recommend it and would go back.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Six Bells On The Green also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Six Bells On The Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Six Bells On The Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.