We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avanti

Avanti
85 High Street, Wallingford OX10 0BW, England
01491835500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Wallingford
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Benson UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have visited Milan and Rome on numerous occasions and popped into local small restaurants similar to Avanti frequently. First time in Avanti last week despite living in the area for 40 years!
I have nothing but positives to say. The welcome, the food, the service, the wine, the choice........all as good as you'd expect in Italia. Eccellente!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    14
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
loughborough
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Super atmosphere and food with gluten free option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Dont be put off by the unassuming exterior this is a great little restaurant. Visiting for the first we were welcomed like old friends. We dropped in without booking prior to going to the cinema yet Nothing was too much trouble and when we said one of us needed gluten free we were told, "No problem." Wide choice of main and side dishes, lovely sweets. The owner is on hand to accommodate every need and chase up the waiters to ensure service is prompt. The locals enjoy their visits and we were treated to a complimentary limoncello along with a group of regular customers. If we are ever back in the area we will return

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Great food, great welcome, great service with nice touches that make you feel special. Will definately go to this restaurant whenever I am in Wallingford.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exactly what an Italian restaurant should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We go to Avanti whenever we have something to celebrate, such as a birthday, and sometimes just when we want a good, tasty, no-nonsense, good value meal. It never fails. And the welcome is always so warm and friendly. Most recently we had to meet a friend for dinner, and he too loved it. We'll keep going back, because if something is so close to perfect why should we change?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, Reading
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor we made a reservation to meet friends for dinner. We weren't to be disappointed. We had a table of four on a busy Saturday evening. Food was really great and service was friendly and efficient.

The only minor niggle was the volume of the music - too loud to hear each other some of the time, but this seemed to be down to the enthusiasm of the manager.

Recommend that you make a reservation if you don't want to be disappointed. We'll certainly return. Good VFM, too. Around £100 for 4, 3 course inc drinks.

Great!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avanti also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Avanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avanti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.