We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great diverse menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath

Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath
25 Walton Road | Stockton Heath, Warrington WA4 6NJ, England
01925 602606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 289 Restaurants in Warrington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $51
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Ego has an amazing location in Stockton Heath and benefits from free car parking in the Aldi car park as well as a lovely terrace that catches the sunshine all afternoon.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great diverse menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I hadn't been to Ego for a long time, and I was pleasantly surprised. The new decor is lovely and the menu has a great selection of dishes for all tastes. The prix fixe menu provides a few good options, is very reasonable, and is available all day on a Sunday.
The cod with leek and bacon was absolutely delicious, as was the crab and chilli risotto. As we were dining quite late on a Sunday evening we avoided the noisiness that this restaurant is notorious for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate all feedback from our customers and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    114
    41
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Always great food, extremely friendly and helpful staff, relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere. Good offers, especially if you join their on-line club (30% off the a la carte menu)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we love hearing from all our customers and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“No idea if the food is good, and will now never find out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This week I was turned away from this restaurant for the fifth - and last - time. On every previous occasion I've been asked for a reservation, haven't had one, and been told that a half full place is "all booked up". This is despite me crossing the road, eating elsewhere and then walking back past the same place to see that it is still half full (and some of the exact same tables) an hour or so later.

This week we arrived at 9pm to a mostly empty restaurant and were told they were no longer serving. I pointed out that their website said they were open until 10:30pm, received a "can't be bothered" shrug and that was it. Apparently they were not very busy so were closing early.

How any service-reliant business can be run this way is a mystery. It is an inexcusable shambles.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Many thanks for your honest and frank review and we're sorry to read about your dining experience with us. Ego Restaurants prides itself on great food and great customer service and it seems that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, I would be be grateful if you could please forward your contact details to stocktonheath@egorestaurants.co.uk to enable our General Manager to contact you to discuss your visit. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“family sunday night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

very nice meal here. Nice surroundings, little on the pricey side, tasty but small portion sizes, so would recommend to order side dishes. Overall though very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate all feedback from our customers and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, cheshire
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great easy going place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Good choice, very reasonable prices and the food is cooked fresh and tastes great, tables outside, so smokers can enjoy themselves too

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we love hearing from all our customers and do hope that you will visit again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath also viewed

 
Stockton Heath, Cheshire
 

Been to Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.