We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warrington Museum & Art Gallery

Warrington Museum & Art Gallery
Museum Street | Cultural Quarter, Warrington WA1 1JB, England
01925 442399
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 46 things to do in Warrington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located above Warrington Central Library, Warrington Museum is one of the oldest municipal museums in the country. Much of the quintessential character of the building has been preserved and its original glass cabinets are crammed with treasures from all over the world. Work from acclaimed artists is also on display in the art gallery, and there is a lively program of events, activities and temporary exhibitions. Admission is free!
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very well presented displays and described the history of the area very well. Showing that a lot of thought and preparation had gone into the Museum by the staff and volunteers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    33
    4
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb local museum and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We visited the family records area of the library and the excellent museum. The knowledgeable staff ensured that we got the most from our few hours there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

For starters it is free entry and that is great. I really enjoyed our visit and started on the top floor and worked our way down pottering to read snippets of this and that supporting information. The natural history section with its original 1930s displays is quite unique and charming. For 1930s the layout is often like a Dorling Kindersley picture book but with a look of sepia and faded excellence and lots of handwritten notes. We came for the art exhibition and enjoyed visiting all the museum too, including the obligatory Egyptian mummy donated way back by a local woman. The modern info with it was quite tasteful and justified the exhibiting of a human body wrapped in bandages. The range of art on display was quite sufficient and most interesting. There is a room with a coffee and vending machines so we didn't bother with refreshments. Parking was a few doors away and more expensive than I would have liked but that has nothing to do with the museum. If I lived local to it I'd be visiting it again and again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I liked the items and staff were helpful...."........I disliked that it was quiet and hardly anyone around. It was eery

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great way to pass a few hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

...very interesting way to pass some time, lots of variety which could appeal to most ages... Staff are very helpful too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warrington Museum & Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Warrington Museum & Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warrington Museum & Art Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.