We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel lovely. ... food standard is very low” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gullivers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Gullivers Hotel to your Saves list
The Gullivers Hotel
Old Hall, Warrington WA5 9YZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Warrington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hotel lovely. ... food standard is very low”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Hotel is really good. Room was lovely. The food in hotel and park is terrible. Really cheap burgers and sausages. Such a shame as if the food was good it would be a fab place to visit. We stayed in the executive suite which had a massive balcony and everything we needed. We would definitely return but will plan to eat elsewhere ie pizza hut nearby and will take our own food in to the park.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Gulliver's Hotel. We greatly appreciate the feedback from all of our guests and we constantly use these comments to improve the overall guest experience.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and would like to assure you that your review will be passed to the relevant department. They will use your comments regarding catering to evaluate this area of the hotel service.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Many thanks,

The Gulliver's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    77
    26
    19
    3
See reviews for
134
1
2
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent being in a park with NO road noise.
The staff are very helpful at this hotel and the rooms are very large with lots of space and usual facilities.
Breakfast is basic but sufficient and evening meals finish at 8:30pm but lots of fast food close by if necessary.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review of your recent visit to the Gulliver's Hotel. We are delighted that you were pleased with the location of the hotel, our team and your room. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Many thanks,

The Gulliver's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We booked the Gully Sleepover package, which included theme park entry and one nights B&B in a den room.
we arrived just before 3pm, check in time which is later than most hotels, to find our room wasn't ready. We were told to wait in reception or go to the play areas which we did. The inside area was small and quite dirty and my daughter did not want to even go in so we tried the outside. One small slide/climbing frame with a couple of crazy golf holes and that was it. So we went back inside. At 3.15 I went to reception again to be told our room still wasn't ready and wouldn't be for another 20 minutes. At this point we were offered a selection of freebies to choose from and a round of drinks. Finally at 3.40 our room was ready.
In between the waiting I had been to the reception toilets. There were 3 of them and each one was dirty and hadn't been cleaned/checked since 12 noon according to the sheet on the wall. I reported this to reception who said they would be sorted. Interesting that 20 minutes after this another guest also complained the toilets were still dirty so clearly nothing had been done.
So our room. It wasn't far from reception, but it was quiet - we couldnt hear any noise from the bar area once we were in. The room was very large and had clearly been recently modernised. However there were lots of dirty marks on the walls and also lots of cobwebs around the room. The tree den bunk area was very good and our daughter loved it. We had to ask for chalk for the board but this wasnt a problem. One of the lights wasn't working and this was reported 3 times but never fixed. The bathroom appeared clean and had a great shower. The small rubber duck was a nice touch for the kids.
There wasn't any evening meal provided, so we had booked elsewhere but then we found out there was to be a BBQ that evening at an extra cost. We didn't stay but the food looked decent for the price.
Breakfast was a bit manic but lots of food available. The food was warm enough and staff were clearing up and replenishing as quickly as they could.
The car park is not easy to get to and very cramped when you get in so watch how you park your car as there isn't a lot of space to move around!
I don't think we would stay here again, even though its very convenient if you are going to the theme park. The staff appear very young and uninterested if things go wrong. There seemed to be a lack of management about to deal with issues as they arose.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
We are very grateful for you taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gulliver's Hotel.

We certainly appreciate feedback from all guests as it helps us to evaluate and improve different areas of the hotel. We are glad to see that your daughter loved the treehouse bunk beds. With regards to the points made about certain aspects of the hotel, please be assured that these will be given directly to the relevant department and team member.

We strive to solve any problems or issues as quickly as possible and we are sorry if you did not experience this high level of service during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Many thanks,
The Gulliver''s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Lovely room with lots of space but attention to detail lacking. Had to request the other child bed being made up despite booking for two children. Bar queue was intertwined with the reception queue and resulted in chaos!! Bathrooms in reception could do with checking at more regular intervals as were quite often in a poor state and without toilet paper. Would try again to see if this is usual practice or not.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for providing us this feedback about your visit to The Gulliver's Hotel. We have a range of suites available and we are glad to see that you enjoyed your room. We will make sure your comments regarding the reception and ground floor toilets are passed to the relevant members of the team. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Many thanks,
The Gulliver's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Just come back from gullivers world after a 2 night stay (25th/26th August) with my wife and 3 children. This time we booked a family room, room 126, the standard of cleanliness is fantastic throughout the hotel and the staff are a real credit to the establishment. The whole experience at the is truly aimed at family's, the play rooms, milk and cookies before bed! Truly fantastic.. The food was really tasty and value for money. Both night we had the family meal deal, £25 for a BBQ buffet for 2 adult and 2 children, which also includes drinks!! The hotel is very safe, at night my wife and I would have a drink in the bar area while the children were entertained with the facilities they had on offer each day.
You are a real credit to the industry! We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Thank you for providing us this fantastic five star review of your time at The Gulliver's Hotel. We pride ourselves on making sure families have a great experience and we are delighted that you enjoyed so many different parts of your short break. We look forward to your next super stay at the hotel very soon.

Many thanks,

the Gulliver's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Found hotel clean but playroom poor. like a doctors waiting room. shabby books and toys with bits missing. Cowboy room lovely. lights went off leaving us with one lamp only making it awkward to use facilities. lift broke which looked poor. Quality of breakfast cheap. on plus side kids did enjoy day in theme park.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
First of all thank you for taking the time to provide us this feedback about your recent stay at The Gulliver's Hotel. We will make sure your comments are passed to the relevant departments and they will be used to improve areas of the hotel including the dining experience and play areas,

We are glad that the kids enjoyed the themed family suite and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Many thanks,
The Gulliver's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The hotel is excellent for young kids , bedrooms fantastic we had one with a balcony , not sure if this is standard ... Everything is aimed at kids so ideal for us. Small bar area for the evening with a nice outdoor area to sit whist kids can play on park. Staff helpful, hotel clean and walking distance to theme park .

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
We greatly appreciate your comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us this five star review. The team will be very happy to see that you had such a pleasant experience. We have a range of themed family suites and there are rooms available with a balcony if you wish to book one. We look forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Many thanks,
The Gulliver's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gullivers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gullivers Hotel

Address: Old Hall, Warrington WA5 9YZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gullivers Hotel is in an ideal location for both business and leisure. All our rooms have been designed in a modern contemporary style providing maximum comfort at affordable prices. The Gullivers Hotel is nestled in parkland in the north west area of Warrington. Surrounded by woodlands and adjacent to the Sankey Valley Park our lodge style hotel sits well in the local environment. The hotel is approached by a private driveway making it difficult to believe you are so close to the town centre. Gullivers World theme park and SplashZone are in walking distance from the hotel making it an ideal base for a family fun break.Easily accessible from three motorway networks, M6, M62 and M56 Gulliver’s Hotel makes an ideal base to visit Chester, North Wales and the Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gullivers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.