We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rose amoungst thorns” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Rose

China Rose
23 Common Lane | Culcheth, Warrington WA3 4EW, England
01925 765806
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 306 Restaurants in Warrington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Rose amoungst thorns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Culceth is well provided for with eateries. We visited China Rose on an evening when we hadn't booked one of the more popular establishements and saw they had room inside.

From the outset, the service was very good. The young European staff are all very attentive and not too pushy with "more drinks", as you sometimes can get.

The food is fresh, well cooked and well seasoned. Lots of veggie options if that's your bag. Drinks are reasonable. All in all, a banker.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    6
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“YES, IMPRESSED!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

didn't know what to expect from this restaurant, looks very plain from outside but previous reviews were on the positive side.
greeted upon arrival by very helpful staff, who were very attentive throughout the evening, ordered soups, starters, mains and sides. All delicious ( soups were amazing ) very tasty food and generous portions too, I had fillet steak on a sizzling platter and my wife had a special curry, cooked to perfection, sides of fried rice and noodles and bean sprouts, various ribs for starters, you will not be disappointed with this restaurant, will be dining here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“China Rose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Was looking forward to coming here but wasn't impressed at all. The starters were nice but the mains very average, the food from my local takeaway is tastier. It was very empty, so perhaps there'd be more of an atmosphere on a weekend (we visited on a Thursday).

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Definitely will go again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Can only say excellent on all counts. Food, service, quality, atmosphere & especially portion sizes. Make sure you starve yourself before you go &you will still take home a doggie bag.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, gorgeous food and fab staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a Living Social voucher to use so decided to go over the recent Bank Holiday weekend.
The staff were very friendly, attentive and welcoming, checking when we arrived where we'd parked to ensure we weren't in a clamping zone and offering advice on a more suitable parking spot.

Drinks were very reasonably priced, £2.80 for a pint of Boddingtons and £10.95 for a bottle of house wine. The food was delicious, prawn crackers were served complimentary before our soups, I had scallop, prawn, squid and asparagus which was delicious and my partner had crab and sweetcorn, again very tasty. For starters I went for the dim sum which was fresh, hot and authentic, my partner went for the salt and pepper ribs which were also very good, a large portion with a real kick. Our mains were fresh and plentiful, I opted for chicken with green peppers and my partner had fillet staek in a black pepper sauce served on a sizzling plate. The steak was particularly good, very, very tender. We chose mixed chinese vegetables and noodles with beansprouts for our side dishes, again both were delicious and good portion sizes.

I'd highly recommend the China Rose, we felt well looked after and had a really enjoyable evening. The Living Social voucher was a great way to discover somewhere we'd never tried before but now we know how great it is we will certainly be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Rose also viewed

Warrington, Cheshire
Warrington, Cheshire
 
Warrington, Cheshire
 

Been to China Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.