We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have evr stayed in by far !!!! Never go there !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Warrington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Warrington to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Warrington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centre Park | Warrington, Warrington WA1 1QA, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel Warrington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Warrington
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I have evr stayed in by far !!!! Never go there !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Worst hotel i have ever stayed in ! I would not recommend having your dog to stay here. You are spoken to with absolute disdain by staff members, the organisation of every aspect of our stay was shambolic. I had booked this for our wedding night and i bitterly regret that i will only have terrible memories of that evening. My husband checked in early because our wedding service was at 3pm . He asked the staff to take our luggage to our superior suite for when we arrived and to lay rose petals in the room as a surprise for me . Our clothes weren't even brought to the room , which had also been downgraded without us being informed because they had over booked, and forget the petals! Too much like hard work for the rude obnoxious staff to bother with ! I had to phone reception the following morning because i had only my wedding dress to wear for breakfast ! And breakfast , ha , I find it hard to believe than any of the management team have been in a hotel before , the chaos was unbelievable. We waited to be seated in the buffet style restaurant. The table was not made up but the manager told us to go and get our food and it would be set up by the time we got back . It was set up , complete with another family in our place ! so we had to stand clutching our plates of food while we chased the staff round to find another table . The manager then found us a dirty table and said "will this do" , i said "i suppose so" ! he then grabbed two sets of cutlery and placed them on the filthy table. I said " i think you had better clean it first " he said "oh yeah ...". He then dusted filthy table with a dry hanky and threw beans all over the chair where he expected me to sit. There was problem after problem and i got tired of complaining . The staff i spoke to were rude , and acted like they hated being there . I expect decent customer service in a hotel of this caliber but as twenty quid b&b would put this dirty decrepit place to shame .One final note the room was small, stuffy, overlooking the car park at the back with a broken window handle, probably from a prior customers escape attempt. I will never return !


Disliked: Rooms, Service, Location, Value, Food

Room Tip: Book another hotel ! Seriously !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    161
    109
    48
    51
See reviews for
66
146
27
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My sister had her wedding here in August 2011. On the way to the hotel we had a disaster with the cake, where it basically collapsed. After arriving in floods of tears the duty manager took control, involved the chef, who rescued the cake. The event was perfect, food was delicious, we were very very well looked after. The staff took a personal interest and nothing was too much trouble. They were organised, in control, composed, professional and friendly. It's so nice to write a positive review. THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here for one night only, purely as a half way point on route to Scotland. I was pleasantly surprised we paid £40 for a room for the night. I have to say the rooms, are very clean, modern, great bathroom, comfy bed, Plasma TV, I thought it was a lovely room. I have paid far more in other places and they have not been even half the standard of the rooms here. We did eat in the Verve restaurant which I have to say the service is very slow and we asked four times for a jug of water and also ketchup and never got it. We had to repeat ourselves several times thoughout the meal. The food wasn't that great so don't expect to be wowed. All in all a perfectly decent place to stay, we didnt use the spa, but it looked nice! The rooms were fab for a night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed for one night after spending the day in Gullivers World. On appearences the hotel looks nice and the leisure facilities were good with friendly and efficient staff. The room we were given was well presented, spacious and the beds were comfy. The rooms were quite dark and gloomy and so all lights needed to be on all the time.
My advice if you are planning to stay with young children is to 1, check what weddings / parties / theme nights are going on in the hotel on the nights you are staying (this will become clear in a minute) 2, ensure that you are not given a room near the lift OR the vending machine.

We hardly got any sleep during our stay due to the constant use of the vending machine around the corner from the room from 2am - 5.30am by other hotel residents returning from a night out after a vino or 15 looking for late night munchies! There was a very loud couple across the corridor who had also had a great night by the sound of things and enjoyed shouting and swearing loudly whilst banging doors at 4am for some reason.The hotel clearly holds a lot of weddings however it also seems to attract the type of parents who leave their children unattended in their rooms while they are downstairs enjoying themselves. On the night of our stay a small child (4yrs old) started crying and screaming for his mum as he had been left alone and had managed to get out of his room and wander the corridors alone. It does not bear thinking about how badly wrong that could have gone! Thankfully another long suffering family next door managed to contact reception to get the mother to come upstairs and look after her child.

The above issues are clearly not the hotel's fault as they cannot be responsible for inconsiderate / irresponsible guests however it does again highlight the type of people staying there and illustrates why you should ask carefully about where your room will be located!

The breakfast was adequate. Improvements that could be made would be to ensure the coffee is served hot rather than warm and that the crockery is clean. Minor issues I suppose however after not much sleep it started to grate a little!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you are planning on doing any sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011 via mobile

on the face of it a decent enough hotel, the exec rooms here are very large and the bed exceptionally comfortable, but its all false. You turn on the tv to find no radio and for the tv itself the oicture and sound very cheap. This is where a theme starts, you spot the chips in the inbuilt furniture, the rain head shower promises much but delivers naff all. The food reads well (ok a common fault of all Village hotels ive stayed at) is dire. Finally you wonder whats keeping the roof up for its certainly not the walls, these are clearly made from paper. I spent everynight sandwiched between both neighbours tv listening

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We managed to get a last minute deal after leaving the nearby Daresbury Park in disgust, It was very nice. The room was clean and tidy and the gym and pool/spa were first class. The staff were friendly and polite.

There is a restaurant and pub attached to the hotel. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was good, but my main course (the salmon pasta dish) was rather bland. This was the recipe's fault rather than the chef's. When we complained, they were happy to knock the cost off the bill. The pub food was more straight-forward and good value for money. The draught beer is a bit pricey though.

Breakfast was average, but it seems to me that there are very few hotels who do a nice breakfast these days.

Overall though, we really enjoyed our stay and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed at the Village hotel for one night on business. First time in a Village hotel - my usual preference is for another chain which doesn't have a hotel nearby. Quite a queue at check in, maybe seven in front of me but I was in my room less than 10 minutes after arriving, very efficient process. Nice room although the lighting was a little low for my taste, very comfortable, great service from desk staff and duty manager when there was a minor issue with the room electrics (reported and fixed in under 5 minutes). My benchmark is how good the shower is, this one was excellent. Good choice for breakfast and checkout was swift, efficient and friendly. The Village chain is now my second preferred option when the first one isn't available. If there were more of them (especially in Scotland) they might be first choice as they are cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Warrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Warrington

Address: Centre Park | Warrington, Warrington WA1 1QA, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel Warrington)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Urban Resort Warrington 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Warrington is close to the beautiful Cheshire countryside and situated between three major shopping centres: Warrington, Liverpool and Manchester all within easy reach from the M6, M56 and M62. You can take a trip to North Wales or visit Arley Hall and Gardens. Family outings should include Chester Zoo and Gulliver's World. Village Urban Resort Warrington has 115 stylish bedrooms; a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub; Starbucks Coffee Shop; an Urban Spa; state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club; Swimming Pool; Meeting and Conference Centre; Live Party Nights; Wedding License; free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Warrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Warrington
Warrington Village Hotel
Hotel Village Warrington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Warrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.