We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon out for little boys (and big ones too)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklands Museum

Brooklands Museum
Brooklands Rd, Weybridge KT13 0QN, England
01932 857381
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Weybridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The birthplace of British motorsport and aviation.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Great afternoon out for little boys (and big ones too)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Took my five year old on a cold Saturday between Christmas and New Year, access to the site is straightforward and parking is free and plentiful. Admission for the pair of us was around GBP 15, there is an additional fee for Concorde which we didn't go for on this occasion. The collection comprises a variety of exhibits themed on the history of the Brooklands site (Vickers & motor sports) and while tatty in places (which added to the experience) was extremely interesting and unusually hands on. Examples of the hands on included;

- a walk through Lancaster bomber
- sitting in the cockpit of a Harrier jump jet
- a hands on discovery room for kids (think science museum on a much smaller scale but with no queue)
- pretending to drive a bus
- walk through of the Sultan of Oman's old VC-10

In addition to a number of aircraft, there are buses, cars, motor bikes, push bikes and war memorabilia. The buildings/surroundings are interesting in themselves; an eclectic hodgepodge perfect for exploring and dripping with character/history not in the least bit sterile.

There is a very reasonably priced cafe onsite with a kids play area, there is also a decent shop.

Thoroughly enjoyable I would return. Hope this helps...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    209
    38
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you are any sort of petrol-head visit Brooklands and Mercedez Benz world, great combined day out, and excellent value

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
“Concorde experiance is the icing on the cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had been to Mercedes world next door a few times which is a nice way to kill a couple of hours for free and we had always said we would come back and visit Brooklands one day. It was a very wet miserable day, but we had a great day. All the planes, cars, buses, bikes were great, and the staff were all very friendly, helpful and informative. The icing on the cake is the Concorde experience, well worth the extra cost to experience what it must have been like to travel on this amazing aircraft. The kids got to sit in the cockpit of the Harrier and also in the Grand Prix car. And I had lots of memories come flooding back looking at the old bikes, Strika, Boxer, Grifter, Chopper and the Raleigh Burner BMX.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An unknown treat for motoring fans.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Unless you're a motoring buff, or slightly older you probably won't know the historical importance of this historic place. The museum aims to teach people all about the race history and when this place used to be an RAF base. The cars are all well displayed and there is so much to look at. If you can time your visit with one of the many car shows which are helded here then that's all the better! Plenty of old aircraft to look at, even a bus museum.... If that's your thing! Well worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Historical & Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you are even remotely interested in aviation or motor cars - visit! We had no idea that such a historic location was nestled away so close to home. I certainly learnt a thing or two.

Also had a very interesting visit aboard the resident concorde.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooklands Museum also viewed

 

Been to Brooklands Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooklands Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.