We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed few days away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Brooklands Hotel to your Saves list
Brooklands Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brooklands Drive, Weybridge KT130SL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fast & Fabulous
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Weybridge
Norfolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed few days away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Interesting building with well equipped rooms, (though only 1 dressing gown and slippers in a double room). Excellent evening dinner service(wines well over priced, advertising summer menu...).Disappointment came at breakfast, it was appalling to say it mildly....To say its 5* beggars belief. No cheese, salmon, cold meat or Danish pastries on offer, the hot buffet was tired, old and somewhat congealed.Dirty tables, used napkins. To be fair, after gaining someone's attention and complaining they did credit £10.00 to the bill.
Reception spoke on check-in, ignored after that as was the case from most of the staff.
The mattress in the room far too soft for a comfortable sleep and the Air con takes too long to heat up the room, it also goes off when you leave as key controlled.....Why?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco-Brooklands, General Manager at Brooklands Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that as a hotel we did not meet your expectations. As a team we work together to deliver a great service to our guests with attention on our product and hospitality and this you will see is reflected in the great comments we receive and the number of times our guests return to Brooklands. However we do also accept that at time to time things do go wrong and we work on correcting this going forward. I am sorry you were only supplied with one gown and slippers, most of rooms in the week are set for one however at the weekend we set for two, I apologise that your room was overlooked however my team would happily supply a second gown and slippers on request. Thank you for pointing out a typo on our introduction to our menus, we have recently changed our menus and this was overlooked, please be assured this has now been corrected and the menus replaced. We do put a great emphasis on our breakfast offering, with a wide selection of fresh juices, hot items which are replenished frequently to enable a consistent freshness along with a large selection of cold items and pastries. We do have a specific team member who's job it is to replenish the items and was undertaking this whilst you were taking breakfast, I am please after your discussion with Karolina she immediately arranged for a fresh breakfast to be cooked for you there and then to your particular specification and went out of her way to ensure that you were happy when you left. I am disappointed you did not like our breakfast as we serve over 100 breakfasts a day and over 200 a day at the weekend and we do get great comments on our extensive offering. As you can appreciate in regards to the air con, this is not something we can have running constantly in all rooms as it is not ecologically friendly and along with our lights are on timers to save energy. Thank you again for your comments and we wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy new Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    410
    104
    54
    29
See reviews for
145
812
28
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Friendly and welcoming staff, clean and spacious room. Hot tub, sauna and steam room lovely. Great breakfast with terrific choice- overall good value!
Only negative, lack of milk to make tea and coffee in the room.

Room Tip: Be aware of location to select a room with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco-Brooklands, General Manager at Brooklands Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed all of the facilities on offer, in particular breakfast and the choice on offer. I will look into your comments in regards to the availability of milk in our bedrooms and review this if needed, however please feel free on your next stay to request more from my MYD team as they are happy to supply our guests with any extras needed. Have a great Christmas and hope to see you in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Booked for a group of 13 for a Christmas event, everyone was impressed with the hotel and the staff. They even sorted out a large table at breakfast for all of us. I would use it again for a weekend away, even though I live quite locally.

Room Tip: No I live quite locally and new of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco-Brooklands, General Manager at Brooklands Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We are delighted that you had a great Christmas party with us and all of your guests enjoyed a great time. I am also delighted that my team went out of their way for you to enjoy breakfast together and finish off your weekend together nicely. I hope we can welcome you back again to use the Spa and 1907 maybe as a local and may we wish you a Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Came to this Hotel on my work Christmas party and was great, the room was huge and well worth the drive. Areas around hotel become very busy in the evening so watch out for traffic. Had a track view room which was great and was amazing to watch the sun rise. Bar staff and hotel staff always go extra mile and always want you to feel special.
If you are ever looking for a venue for a party this is the place to stay, food very good and cooked to the highest standard.
Gym is small but can still try to can get some what of a work out and sap facilities are great but make sure you book in advance as they get busy quick.
Breakfast was fresh very well put together, better than some of the other hotels i stayed at.

Best hotel i stayed at for 2013.......

Room Tip: Recommend Track viewing room if you like cars on a track. But can be noisy as the cars are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco-Brooklands, General Manager at Brooklands Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We are delighted that you had a great stay with us here at Brooklands Hotel and that you enjoyed all the facilities on offer. Indeed we do recommend that you book your spa treatments a couple of weeks in advance as we do get busy at the weekends. We are very proud of the team here at Brooklands Hotel and I am delighted to read that they looked after you well. May we wish you a great Christmas and we hope we can welcome you back again in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My partner booked a night away at the Brooklands Hotel via a Groupon deal. This included the room, breakfast, spa access, cocktail of the day and tapas lunch. Overall great deal as it only cost £100.

We arrived at the hotel at 2pm ish and were able to check in despite check in time being 3pm, because I didn’t have a credit card I had to give a £50 deposit, which I got back on check out. I also had to check in my car as being in the car park, obviously just for their records. We were given the key card, vouchers and a welcome letter and were asked if we needed any help with our bags. Then we were directed to our room, very easy to the find.

The room was incredible, number 122 which had a track view!! The room had everything you could want. Fridge with free bottled water, free safe, ironing board and iron, tea coffee facilities, iPod dock, huge tv with unique menu system which allows you to get information about the hotel, hair dryer, audio system in bathroom , towels, dressing gowns, slippers. Everything you want from a hotel room. The shower was incredible and the bed so comfortable.
We didn’t have time to access the spa but I’m sure it would be just as good as the standards throughout the hotel; it’s located on the 3rd floor, no swimming pool only a hot tub and steam/sauna room in the changing rooms.

Breakfast was to die for, huge selection of food served in a self service style apart from they bring you teas and coffees. Food included, full English, pastries, breads, huge variety of cereal, seeds, fresh fruits, fruit salads, smoothies and fresh fruit juices.

All staffs throughout the stay were lovely and very friendly made you feel welcome. I would 1000% recommend staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: All even numbered rooms face the track on floor 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco-Brooklands, General Manager at Brooklands Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We are delighted that you had a great stay and were able to take advantage of one of our Groupon offers. We are pleased you were happy with the facilities on offer and that the team looked after you well, we hope we can welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed a night as we went to a 40th birthday party locally. We have stayed in quite a few luxury/boutique hotels and we were very impressed with how beautiful the Brooklands is especially considering the very reasonable price. It felt at least on a par with if not a cut above some of the other places we have stayed for the same price or more. Staff were very friendly, professional and courteous and we plan to go back soon, particularly as they offer a tempting range of spa and driving day (due to Mercedes Benz World being so close) based packages. Only down side was for a spa hotel they have no pool, which was the only reason it was ruled out for a recent girls wknd spa break.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco-Brooklands, General Manager at Brooklands Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us whilst visiting the area and that you enjoyed the facilities and the hospitality offered by my team. unfortunately we do not have a pool however I hope that you enjoyed the hot tub on the balcony during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back and please check out all of our different packages on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottngham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location for our Christmas party event. Group of 11. 6 rooms used and feedback for all were excellent. Immaculate throughout and staff very attentive.
Drinks were a little on the pricey side.
Lovely hotel. Our room was deluxe with balcony overlooking the track. Huge room. Finish to a very high standard.
Usual breakfast choices although buffet monitored and refilled very quickly as many down for late breakfast.
Staff friendly and nothing too much trouble.
Would recommend to anyone

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco-Brooklands, General Manager at Brooklands Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We are so pleased you had a great evening and your party went well. I will pass on your kind comments to the team and we hope that we can welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brooklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Hotel

Address: Brooklands Drive, Weybridge KT130SL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Weybridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Weybridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooklands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the stunning county of Surrey, just 20 minutes from London and standing where the world famous Brooklands race track once reigned supreme during the 1920s and 30s. The Brooklands Hotel takes this iconic inspiration to deliver a new kind of unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brooklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Hotel Weybridge, Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooklands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.