We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere but rushed service...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gaylord

The Gaylord
73 Queens Road, Weybridge KT13 9UQ, England
01932842895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 62 Restaurants in Weybridge
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but rushed service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Visited as a party of 3 for dinner on a Thursday night.
The restaurant was full with a good atmosphere.
The welcome wasn't exactly welcoming and the service was rushed rather than friendly.
The food arrived in good time and was hot, generous and tasty. We enjoyed the mushroom bhaji, cauliflower bhaji, peshwari naan and garlic naan and pilau rice with mains of lamb madras, lamb tikka masala and a tandoori cocktail masala. The sides were all great but the masala sauce was very thick and creamy and although the meat was good the sauce didn't really work.
Carlsberg on draft was popular with the men in my party and drinks were topped up often.
A rose was given to me at the end which was a nice gesture but I would of rather had service with a smile!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    31
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My favourite curry house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've been visiting the Gaylord for years and I love the food and the service. Nobody does a tikka masalla like they do here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Like previous reviewers, have been visiting for many years. The owner was off and the service from the staff was terrible. We waited for more than 15 minutes to be asked if we wanted a drink - even although it wasn't a particularly busy mid week evening and there at least 3 waiters on duty. The waiters seemed more concerned with re-setting the tables and folding napkins and did not seem to notice that we were waiting to place our food order. Again, we had to ask if we could have our food order taken. On the last three occasions, the chicken in the curries have been very tough, and maybe they should consider changing their meat supplier. After finishing our meal, no one bothered to clear any of our plates - even at the point of asking for the bill, the dirty plates were still sitting on our table a good 15 minutes after we had finished. Very disappointing...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The greatest place to eat if your not in India ;-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I have been going there for 20 years and i can't fault the service. Great food, perfect atmosphere and great price.......

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Still as good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I hadn't been for years and the food was every bit as good as I remembered, service second to none. The staff are obliging and take the abuse of drunken knowalls with good grace. Excellent food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gaylord also viewed

Weybridge, Surrey
Weybridge, Surrey
 

Been to The Gaylord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gaylord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.