We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful food, very expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilash

Bilash
2 Cheapside Civic Centre, Wolverhampton WV1 1TU, England
+44 (0)1902 427762
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 361 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $78
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Cannock
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“wonderful food, very expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great food but very expensive, I was scared to have dessert. Could not fault the food or service. I avoided a starter and went straight to main course. The food was very good but don't go here expecting a cheap pure theatre dinner.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    73
    36
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Over priced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I would have given this a rating of a 4 but I feel that the food, drink and service here does not live up to the price tag. This used to be a regular of mine about 10 years ago, it was a little pricey then but they have gone way over the top with the pricing on their drinks and sundries. I mean the cheapest bottle of white wine is £25 which I think is too pricey for an Indian restaurant. Poppadoms at £1.50 each is also a joke! We went on their website before we went and they advertise a pre-theatre deal at £22.50 per head. This was also advertised on the window but there was no menu on offer for such a thing and no mention of it. The food was nice but very small portions and expensive. The service was not brilliant but it was busy? On of our party of 4 had to wait ages for her meal even though her rice was going cold on her plate. The location of the restaurant is good for the centre of town and for the Civic and Wulfrun Halls (not that near to the Grand for pre-theatre meals though). Parking is easy as it is right by the Civic car park (not open on a Sunday I don't think)Easy to get a taxi just around the corner in black cab rank. I don't think I will be visiting again though which is a shame because I think since they've renovated the place they expect the customers to pay for that renovation by adding to the prices of the meals and drinks. What is also annoying is that they keep filling your wine glass up and then pressure you to buy another bottle. They are not happy about you asking for a jug of water and they won't leave the jug on your table they will just fill your glass.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinscall Village, Lancashire, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Would be easier to write a good review if it was not so expensive for what it is.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I ate here with colleagues in 2012, a good clean restaurant, friendly service, and good but small portion sizes, and a pricey bar.

Wolverhampton does lack good eateries, there are not many places for business dinners if you do not like italian food (two high end Italians in city centre and then thats it) so i suppose they can get away with charging a bit extra.

I personally do not think that it was worth the money at all, portion sizes were a bit small, and yes it was better than average curry but not the best i have ever tasted.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“indian at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fab really enjoyed te food, good flavours, Staff good of done with being a litlle more friendly. They seem more interested in what they done the night before.. I think every one in the building new.. But the food was good..

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT MEALS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The food was excellent. It had always been given good write ups and so we tried it and everything good that has been said about it was correct. I would recommend it to friends and family. Could not go too often, has to be a special occasion because of the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bilash also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to Bilash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilash, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.