We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a workmans stopover” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Victoria Hotel

Queen Victoria Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wolverhampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Queen Victoria Hotel
Save
You added Queen Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
79 Albert Road, Wolverhampton WV6 0AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Market Drayton
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
1,281 helpful votes 1,281 helpful votes
“Bit of a workmans stopover”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had a stay there as I couldnt get booked in anywhere else. It was very cheap but I understand why. Its more suited to working men who are away for the week. My room was very small, poorly equipped and the bathroom was a disaster. No blinds on the windows, broken shower and opretty dirty to be fair. I won't be staying again as it was a last resort the time I did stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JASWANT S, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The bathroom has obscure windows and you pay average £25 to £29 for a basic room which provides tea and coffe making facilities. Shower for basic rooms is near the room down the corridor, we are continually improving, you are welcome to stay in an en-suite room for £39.00 better room, we dio cater for working contractors so are cheap and cheerful and included in the price is a full English breakfast, with orange juice, tea coffee, well worth the price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
4
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Please be aware if staying at this hotel. The room was extremely dated. The furniture was falling to bits it smelled musty didn't look as though it had been hoovered for a long time. The electric sockets were split and were very dangerous. The bathroom had mould growing in the sink and around the bath and again the floor looked like it had never been mopped. The toilet looked surface clean but when we lifted the seat it had not been cleaned properly at all! The shower was awful it would not stay at a constant temperature was either red hot or cold in I gave up. We were there for only one night, we thought we may stay a second night but didn't want to stay there any longer than we had to so we left as soon as we could the next morning. Would definitely not stay here again or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JASWANT S, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The hotel has been improved and repainted outside and is continually improved.
The electrics have all been pat tested and improved since this gentlemens stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Well on a very cold night we were on our way to Wolverhampton, and being turned down by a thousand hotel my final call was to Queen Victoria Hotel in Wolverhampton. Though its not a centrally-located hotel like the others but, trust me the stay was wonderful.
Purely due to the warm reception of staff at reception and lady at breakfast. We were really struggling to find a place for few hours and not only did they warmly accommodate us but they were very generous in giving us a place.
The Hotel definetly needs some improvements and I am usually very fussy about the conditions but the service level completely overshdowed the deficiencies.
Highly recommend for 1 night stay if going for a short business

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

I stayed at this hotel in mid January. i booked a double en-suite bedroom for me and my partner. i booked the room for 2 nights which was around £50. The staff were very well mannered and polite. The staff allocated me to my room they were really easy to talk to. The breakfast the following morning was exceptionally tasty and filling. The hotel was reasonably clean. Overall i would stay at this hotel next time i am in the city.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

i stayed at this hotel but the internet gave a different image to what i saw.
The hotel is shabby out of date and has no reference to regal feel the name portrays.
Furnitue is old and fallin to bits bathrooms need seroius facelifts the beds are uncomfortable and generally the look is dated and loads of dust and dirt visible. Heating worked somedays and other days not.

Reception was serioulsy out of date and not give a good impression at all. With some investment the hotel has considerable potential which can easily be returned. The staff were great in particular the asian lady named Gin i think who was pleasent professional and friendly which may be the only reason i stayed.

Come on the owner get your act together and you can have a great return on your investment.

Food was a little greasy but fine if you like it that way.

May stop again only if considerable improvement made and wouldnt even mind paying a little extra then as price was great at the time.

  • Liked — reception lady
  • Disliked — appearance
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel several times and they never seem to put any work into making it aesthetically appealing. First time we stayed there, initial impression was a nakered car in the car park dents everywhere, broken ariels etc... looked like it was ready for the skip - so not a good impression. Service was ok, with a smile i guess.
The room: we had family room one double two singles, upon opening the draws the handles fell off and similar can be said regardng the wardrobe. Double bed was fine, however one of the singles had many struts missing which made very uncomfy sleeping!!
Breakfast was ok, can't knock the good old english breakfast!!!

Overall, it does the job but you wouldn't want to take your partner there for a romantic weekend!! Relatively clean, but needs lots of TLC!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Room quality
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea, wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

stayed for nearly three weeks throughout july and august. it was for work, not pleasure. but the staff more than made up for a pretty shoddy hotel. don't get me wrong, with a bit of attention to detail, this place could be very nice. but it does need a bit of cosmetic work. we were checked in by lisa. who was always very cheerful. and ready for a chat. the first week we stayed in rm14. twin room with one double and a sigle ensuite. when we went back two weeks later, there were three of us so we stayed in rm15. one double and two singles with ensuite. both rooms were very basic but clean. small tv that we didn't watch much. and sachets of tea and coffee. the rooms are secure and opened with an electronic key card. all the staff are very friendly. the girls that make the breakfast are the ones that clean the rooms. thanks for all the poached eggs. but sorry about the sequins (private joke). breakfast was always excellent. and and the orange juice was flowing. lots of places to eat and drink and drink and drink nearby. i recommend the newbridge and the new hampton. and plenty of room for parking cars, or vans in our case. would gladly return.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the paintwork
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JASWANT S, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hotel has been improved since, redecorated outside and inside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Address: 79 Albert Road, Wolverhampton WV6 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel Wolverhampton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.