We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant concept.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Academy Restaurant

Academy Restaurant
Bilston Street | Metro One Campus, Wolverhampton WV1 3AH, England
+44 1902 821350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 373 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A brilliant concept.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Excellent 3 course meal for 2, glass of wine and post-meal tea all for under £20. What more could you ask for? Add to that some wonderfully attentive staff and the fact you're helping the Chefs/restaurant staff of tomorrow and you have a true hidden gem right in the middle of Wolverhampton. My only advice to you is to give it a go and see for yourself.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“my regular eatery,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I usually download a few menus from their site or pick them up from waiting area when eating there. they're usually worth trying and todays was excellent there are themed menus too as was todays st david's all this week for lunch.
st Patrick,st Andrew and more specials through out the year.
There is always a choice of starters, mains,including veggie and then choice of sweets.
2 courses £7.....3 courses £8.50 complimentary tea or coffee if you wish. A bonus to eating there is that we have learnt new ways of combining foods as well as presentation. Finally we must mention we often buy their bread& cakes from the 1st. floor before leaving.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great food, well served”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

A colleague and I had lunch here today, we both chose different items from the varied menu. The food was well cooked, tasty and well presented. The students that were serving were well dressed and polite and attented to our every need without being too intrusive. All in all we had a pleasant dining experience and came away feeling well fed and content without it costing the earth.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I've eaten here quite a few times, most recently last week when some colleagues and I came for a festive meal. There is normally a choice of meat fish and veggie starters and mains so lots to choose from, everything cooked well and served beautifully. This time, I went for seafood cocktail, salmon fillet with all the trimmings, and panna cotta. 3 courses followed by coffee and chocolate mints was £13, I think this very reasonable by any standards, and the food is quality. The students and their tutors should be proud.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“One of the best in Wolverhampton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants in Wolverhampton, and one not many probably know about!
I have eaten here a number of times over the past 3 years and have never been disappointed. This is top quality food at low prices, the reason for this is that it is cooked and waited by students that are learning the trade in the industry.
Much better to go to a restaurant like this where the students have been studying for years in the art of service and cooking, than go to a chain pub where you will still more than likely be waited on by students - but ones that aren't skilled in the art!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Academy Restaurant also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to Academy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Academy Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.