We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Austin Roses

David Austin Roses
Bowling Green Lane | Albrighton, Wolverhampton WV7 3HB , England
01902 376334
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alongside the Plant Centre are David Austin's beautiful 2 acre rose gardens. They are home to over 700 different varieties of roses, including the National Collection of English Roses which flower in fragrant flushes from late May until the first frosts. The rose gardens are open to the public 7 days a week, 9am to 5pm and entry is free. Advance booking is not required except for coach parties. Check our website for special events (Lunches, Talks, Garden Design Days) during the season.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a lovely time,interesting shop lots of roses to look at when in bloom. The food in the restaurant very good quality . A pot of tea is a must comes in a lovely tea pot the kind granny used to make!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    53
    14
    0
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton , England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bloomin lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visit in the early summer when all the roses are coming into bloom. Stunning walks and little arbours to sit in and admire the surroundings. Teashop very good too!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful roses what has happened to your tea rooms?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Love coming to D A roses to look around their gardens and gift shop. We have always ended our visit with treating ourselves to a meal in their tea shop. But what a disappointment we found on a recent visit. Their chefs and menu has changed and certainly not for the better! 2 of our party chose a chicken dish with side salad and new potatoes ( 3 potatoes to be exact) no side salad ever arrived. I had a salad with chese and ham but the cheeses were extremely small portions and the ham had gristle running through it. The vanilla pannacote was their saving grace - heavenly to say the least. We told the waitress about the missing salads and she did reduce the bill for us. However service was slow and a smile from staff wouldn't go amiss. Next time we visit David Austin Roses I think we will be looking for an alternative end to our visit and eat elsewhere.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Total Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was a treat for us paid for by our Grandson which we were really looking forward to . We were really upset to think that he had paid money for what turned out to be a real disappointment to say the least. Stale bread which had obviously been left uncovered. with very little filling inside . Dry hard scones , cakes that looked as if they had been bought in a supermarket , as a previous reviewer had stated. There was a complete lack of atmosphere . The only waitress there was a young girl , so no use complaining to her and there was no one of any authority to speak to. We will make a phone call tomorrow when hopefully there will be someone who we can speak to ,Total waste of money , We went for a 57 th wedding anniversary treat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A most enjoyable afternoon tea in pleasant surroundings. Will return in the summer when the roses are in bloom.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Austin Roses also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to David Austin Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Austin Roses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.