We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mount Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Mount Hotel to your Saves list
The Mount Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mount Road | Tettenhall, Wolverhampton WV6 8HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Wolverhampton
1 review
“Great stay....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the mount, room was fantastic and very clean. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Location was great and would definitely recommend a meal in the drawing room. Overall very pleased...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHMH, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Mount i am glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    63
    39
    12
    10
See reviews for
40
75
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Due to a hot water problem in original room, got upgraded to one of the executive suites. Wow! Probably the biggest room and bathroom I have stayed in! Not to mention the biggest bed!! Good décor too with a couple of nice paintings. Lucky to get the upgrade, but original room was good value for money, albeit a little "tired" looking. Lovely meal in the Drawing Room restaurant, all staff very pleasant and keen to please, but obvious that one or two staff short, as new starter on her first day.
Able to enjoy drinks in the garden on a lovely May evening before dinner which also added to the venue. And finally....a great full English to finish!!

Room Tip: Not sure what charge is made for exec suite but try for room 81 if you can!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Ok first up this is not a crazy expensive property. Rooms are very reasonably priced and I was lucky enough to stay in a recently refurbed room..... Couldn't fault it for the money paid.... Clean, smart although super hot owing to a freakishly hot day.

What would move this place from good to great is a bit of staff training and direction in the bar and restaurant area.....overall the staff seem single minded in their activities and can't multi task....so greeting and showing someone to a table is 1 task..however whilst doing that scanning the restaurant to see who needs a menu, wine etc doesn't happen....as a result wait time is long, folks give up trying to get the bill and walk to the bar in another room to settle the bill...self included. Food was perfectly decent, it wasnt amazing but it totally met my expectations for quality of hotel and price. It wouldn't take much to get this really good.... Steaks were good , chips good ...sauces I suspect were not freshly made and if you are serving steak you have to have a bearnaise but none there ?

However good for the price paid ..the Ritz it ain't but then it isn't trying to be. ....... I would recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to The Drawing Room Restaurant for an evening meal on a Saturday night.
The hotel was busy as there was a wedding on. The restaurant was just over half full.
The restaurant is lovely. Its very open, and over looks the gardens which is nice.

The food was really good, I couldn't fault my starter, main or desert. I would say the prices are slightly on the high side, but you do usually find this with hotel restaurants, and as the food was very good I'd say it is worth the extra cost.

The one thing that did let the evening down was the service. It seemed that they were short staffed. At the start of the evening there were 3 staff (one of them it must have been her first night), then later on there were 2 staff. Maybe other staff were needed for the wedding, which is fair enough, however when there is only 2 staff running the restaurant, one of which was the very inexperienced member then thats when problems arise. Slow drinks service, bills and food going to wrong tables etc.

This could have quite easily been sorted with just 1 extra member of staff.

This was the only issue we had. Hopefully that was just a one off.

Overall we had a very pleasant evening with great food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We can only comment on the Restaurant as we live close by, so don't need to stay.
Last time we went there for Sunday lunch it was very good, but I felt it lacked a Good front of house maitre d'.
Well we have just been for my mother in laws 80 th birthday and it was excellent. The guy running the restaurant was excellent and he made all the difference, every restaurant needs some one like this guy calm and professional. The service was excellent the food was even better and it was a sensible price, the wine menu was good and the choices were sensibly priced. Looking forward to going back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed at the mount hotel for 3 nights away with work. The room booked was an 'executive' room and it was really disappointing. The room was part of the stable block and it was dark and needed a good update. For example the carpet was dirty and the shower was mouldy. Cracked tiles and paint needed touching up. Top tip ask for a suite in the main building!

I told the receptionist that I was disappointed and wanted to be moved. I wasn't challenged and didn't feel uncomfortable. The service was superb. The staff were apologetic and as there weren't rooms available that night I was moved the following day. I packed my belongings and went to work, come back and all had been moved to my new room, a suite in the main building.

The room was immaculate and beautiful. Large bed, beautiful views over the garden, high ceilings, balcony.

If you stay at this hotel and are getting a room at the more expensive end, ask for it to be in the main building, not in the stable block! My rating is based on the room I was moved to.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the stable block
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I visited the Mount for a wedding in April 2013…

Hotel Location: I don’t really know the area, or why anyone would visit other than business or family (so I can’t comment too much) but the location is fine. Really close to the motorway, easy to find.

Rooms / Facilities etc: We were really disappointed. We booked a suite as it was a special occasion, and the only phrase that springs to mind, is it was like a pig wearing lipstick… They had tried to cover the fact it was a pig under the ‘nice fitting’ but it really was a pig.

Stretched silk headboard stained with greasy head marks. Tiny dingey bathroom with the worst shower we have ever experienced in a hotel. The unit around the sink was mdf, soaked and cracked. Really unsightly. The chest of drawers had a huge chunk missing from the veneer. Cheap to replace, but they obviously couldn’t be bothered. The windows were terrible, not shutting properly and paint on paint on paint so looked really shoddy. The curtains didn’t fit properly and were hanging down on one side. It was loud and I mean LOUD. You could hear all the floorboards in the hallway and the noise from the bar downstairs was terrible. The writing table was rickety, so much so we put an ice bucket on it and it fell off.

For a suite, it was literally taking the Michael. We pointed all the faults out to the ‘manager’ and she very graciously knocked £10 off the bill. Again, lipstick on a pig of an offer. Great thought, but felt like a bit of a slap in the face.

NOTE: We had friends who stayed in the newly refurbed rooms and they were much better.

Food & Drinks: Dreadful. The breakfast was like a very dodgy café served from bin maries. Cheap produce, over cooked, poorly heated. The breakfast room was scruffy and disorganized. It was weird as well that the tales in the main were for 10. So you had to sit with lots of people. Which just seemed odd….

The wedding breakfast was average at best. Obviously mass frozen desert. Just not good food which was a shame as the cost per head is quite high. Again, for the cost per head, I would have expected more than half a glass of white wine (I know the package booked was for more..)
Drinks process were average I would say.

Staff: Again, average, not overly personable, but not dreadful…

General: The hotel itself from the outside just looked uncared for. The limited greenery at the front needed seeing to. They hadn’t swept the dead leaves away. Lots of wires and pipes all over, again just looked ugly.

The pergola was half stripped for re painting (which with the bad weather is unavoidable) but they had left all the stripped paint all over the lawn which is just lazy.

Closer: Really lazy approach to hotel management - We wouldn’t come back OR recommend this venue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHMH, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write this review however I must take the time to reiterate some points you have made:

The phrase a pig wearing lipstick baffles me as this hotel had had in excess of a million pound spend on refurbishment this year and as you can see from our other reviews has been carried out to a high standard as the images depict.

The drinks we offer at The Mount come from an award winning supplier based locally and the wines are far superior to most you will find at a hotel offering a wedding breakfast .In addition we had several comments on check out this weekend stating how much they enjoyed the wedding breakfast and have done 80 weddings this year with no issues as yet and have held hundreds over the years

Breakfast had several large tables laid up as we assumed that the wedding party would like to socialise in the morning and sit with the guests of the wedding I apologise you did not find this useful.

The wiring on the building is essential for cctv and outdoor lighting purposes and the downpipes have been there 150 years and you are the first person to pass a negative comment. The outside is regularly maintained but there was excessive rain and gale winds on the day of this event I am sorry this is out of our control.

You are correct in your observation that the pergola was being painted so it looked great for the outside wedding but then there was 48 hours of rain and that amounted to it not being able to be completed it was then completed on Sunday afternoon and is now immaculate.

I feel your comments excessive and this is a demonstration on how tripadvisor should not be used as you are Clearly being defamatory towards The Mount after management at the time addressed most of these concerns and a discount was offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Address: Mount Road | Tettenhall, Wolverhampton WV6 8HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Hotel is a grand Period hotel offering a variety of accommodation types standard rooms, deluxe room, executive rooms which are located in a converted courtyard and grand suites overlooking the lawns. All of our rooms offer an array of modern facilities and are spaciously set out. The Hotel boasts an AA Rosette awarded restaurant The Drawing Room Bar and Grill, which serves contemporary British cuisine with a twist. As well as having its own Champagne bar serving an array of Champagnes and fine wines. We also offer an array of function, conference and wedding packages in either our purpose built conference centre; Newly refurbished Mander's suite or exquisite Great Hall dating from 1890. We strive to provide the best customer experience possible and ensure all our guests are comfortable and their needs are met while visiting Wolverhampton and the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Hotel Wolverhampton
The Mount Hotel Wolverhampton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.