We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mount Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Mount Hotel to your Saves list
The Mount Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mount Road | Tettenhall, Wolverhampton WV6 8HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Much improved rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I've stayed here before and whilst the public areas were superb, the rooms let The Mount down. However the refurbishment of the rooms is now complete and they do not disappoint. Comfy beds, stylish room and nice spacious bathroom. Only gripe about the room was the lack of a power shower, Breakfast good although choice of eggs other than scrambled would be good. Staff friendly and welcoming - would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHMH, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write this review your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again at The Mount soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    74
    43
    15
    14
See reviews for
54
87
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in a family room. The room was nice and spacious and the bed was comfortable and large. The problem with the family rooms is that they are quite a trek up and down stairs just to get to them! The room décor was a bit disappointing though, for example , in the bathroom, the skirting boards were unpainted and a bit shabby and there were gaps in the tiling work there. In the bedroom, the feature red wall was spattered with small white paint dots (looks like someone repainted the ceiling quickly) and the ceiling had water marks in one corner. There was a small patio, which on our side of the hotel, overlooked a barren looking grass field but it was inaccessible due to bars across the French doors in the room. The lack of mini-fridge and safe for your valuables in the room was also a let down (for a four star hotel I was surprised by these omissions as all my recent 3 star hotels had at least a small pin protected safe for your documents). there was an iron + board available but it was so cold even on the hottest setting it took 30 mins to iron one set of clothes. I'm not sure if the room was renovated at all yet, so hopefully these things will be rectified if they still have to do work to them.

The hotel is still undergoing major refurbishment (1 year+ now I think!) and still has no gym / pool available. The gardens looked promising, but again were full of builders equipment, so weren't suitable to use. The communal hallways are in quite a state of disrepair too so they seem very behind on their works.

The breakfast was excellent and very well cooked and the staff there were superb.

Overall I would go back, but probably not until they've completed their renovations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHMH, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this review and i am glad overall your stay was enjoyable we can only apologise for any inconvenience caused by the refurbishment and we did our utmost to avoid the disruption however the work is now finished and the refurbishment complete the pictures will soon be changed on Tripadvisor and we hope you will return and stay again once again thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a really nice meal here with family a few weeks ago, and was very pleased and surprised as there aren't too many good European / British restaurants in and around Wolverhampton, I'm sorry to say (and would hasten to add that there are some excellent curry / balti restaurants!) The Mount itself seems to have had something of a facelift over the last year or two and the restaurant was very tastefully decorated. The menu itself was good, with some surprising options as well as the usual favourites and all nicely cooked and presented. The service was a bit patchy, but overall I think the restaurant is hitting the right note.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHMH, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review your feedback is welcome as are you at The Mount anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Superb service,surroundings and out of this world food. Couldnt fault anything. Complements to the chef and staff. Superb value for money and a credit and example to the industry. My fiancee and i have now booked our wedding dinner at the resteraunt folling a long search. Could not recomend it highly enough. Well done and thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHMH, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for taking The time to write this review we appreciate all feedback and its nice to see our efforts realized we look forward to having you back at The Mount you are always welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the Mount Hotel from Saturday 16th March to Monday 18th March to celebrate our 29th Anniversary on the 17th.
We booked the stay via the "secret escapes" web site and had a fantastic experience.The deal we had for the break was £60 per night including full English breakfast; the sort of price you would pay for a more inferior hotel. As an additional offer, we had a 3 course set menu for secret escape customers which was £15 each. There were three different choices for starter, main and dessert. The meal and presentation was superb.
From the moment we checked in on Saturday, to the time we left on the Monday, we found the service from all the staff was exceptional. The executive room we had for the stay was very big with a King size bed and plenty of storage space for clothes. A 32" television was on the wall rather than on the dressing table which gave more space along with complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits. The adjoining bathroom had a separate shower and free standing bath which suited all requirements. It was decorated to a very high standard and given me ideas for one of my bedrooms back home!!
I cannot recommend the hotel enough - whether for a short break or as a base for exploring Wolverhampton and the surrounding counties of Shropshire and Staffordshire it is ideal.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the outstanding Executive Rooms which was detached from the Hotel. Nice and secl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHMH, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for you review we appreciate all feedback we look forward to seeing you at The Mount again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night in feb 2013, the staff are real nice and friendly and made us feel very welcome, the rooms are nice and big and kept very clean, we eat in the restaurant and the food was amazing.The staff in the restaurant were very nice too.
Breakfast in the morning was Buffett and again was very nice, if your thinking of staying for a relaxing break then The Mount is the place to stay.

Overall a faultless stay and will stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHMH, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for you feedback we are happy we met your expectation and look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here after going to the Ramada Park Hall and checking out early as it was a dive.

The Mount is a classy place. The bar and great hall are all fantastic. When you walk into the place it oozes class and history.

The rooms in the old part of the house can be a little noisy, but the rooms in the new annex are very comfortable and quiet.

The staff are helpful and couldn't do enough to help.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHMH, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review we appreciate your feedback we currently have 40 rooms undergoing a multi million pound refurbishment which will bring them all up to the 21st century we are glad you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back to see the new rooms and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Address: Mount Road | Tettenhall, Wolverhampton WV6 8HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Wolverhampton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly Refurbished Mount Hotel is a grade II listed Period Property offering a variety of accommodation types standard rooms, deluxe room and executive rooms as well as a Serviced Apartment.All well appointed and Modern with FREE WIFI. The Hotel boasts an AA Rosette awarded restaurant The Drawing Room Bar and Grill wich was also a Runner up in good Food England and Wales 2014 it offers contemporary British cuisine with a twist. As well as having its own Champagne bar serving an array of Champagnes and fine wines. The Hotel also offers an array of function, conference and wedding packages in either our purpose built conference centre; Newly refurbished Mander's suite or exquisite Great Hall dating from 1890. We strive to provide the best customer experience possible and ensure all our guests are comfortable and their needs are met while visiting Wolverhampton and the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Hotel Wolverhampton
The Mount Hotel Wolverhampton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.