We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Light House Media Centre

Light House Media Centre
The Chubb Buildings, Fryer St, Wolverhampton WV1 1HT, England
01902 716 055
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This unique arts center features galleries staging contemporary art exhibitions, an art house cinema and a media reference library.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Lighthouse media centre is a great little cinema/art gallery/cafe/bar/training centre and deserves full support over multiplexes.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A lovely little venue with good quality exhibitions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I don't live in the area but I do come here when visiting the Art gallery to see what is on and I am rarely disappointed. The exhibitions tend to be a bit more quirky than those in the Art gallery but they are always interesting and often thought provoking. On this trip I saw an exhibition of photographs based on the geotagging info on Twitter which I really enjoyed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great place for a premiere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Treated us really well when we arranged a premiere for a youth film that we had been involved in.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2 Screen Cinemain City Centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Was at one point Wolverhampton only cinema. Large cinema is now at Bently Bridge

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic independent cinema”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is a small and friendly venue. It shows a wide variety of films: from small indie foreign films to more famous US ones. The ticket staff are always happy to provide feedback and their recommendations. While you are waiting for your film there is usually an exhibition to look at and a cafe (which is very well regarded locally).

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Light House Media Centre also viewed

 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to Light House Media Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Light House Media Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.