We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The jury's still out.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   126 Penn Road, Wolverhampton WV3 0ER, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The jury's still out.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I really can't make up my mind on this hotel. It's clean, friendly, welcoming and the food is ok. But I left without feeling satisfied about my stay. My room was nice but the tv wasn't much bigger than an iPad, the thing I can't ignore was this has to be the most uncomfortable nights sleep I've had in a very long time. The mattress was simple awful. It was like sleeping on springs, there was no padding between them and the bed sheets. I reported it to reception in the morning, and was told that nobody else has reported it, which I find hard to believe. This situation was a shame, as the evening I stayed there, there was a wedding reception on. And the staff prewarned us there may be some noise, but I couldn't hear a thing from my room. The real pity of it all is that no matter how nice the hotel is, I cannot forgive a poor nights sleep.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and apologies for tha lack of sleep
We sincerely have never had an adverse comment regarding the mattress but housekeeping have swapped it with a spare one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    109
    74
    39
    25
See reviews for
51
121
18
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Recently attended a friends wedding at this Hotel. The food was quite unimaginative and the meal was slightly spoiled by the continuous swearing from a male chef in thekitchen. This could be heard throughout the dining room and I feel that such uunimaginativeand boring food for a small wedding breakfast hardly warrants the stressfull language that was heard through the doors.
Aside from this, the staff are second to none. We all enjoyed a laugh and joke with Tom the south african or australian sounding barman. And also the taller young barman. They were both smiling even when we kept them so busy. We would come here again for a drink, but not the food.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and sorry for the noise disturbance - the member of staff has been spoken to
Sorry you did not enjoy the meal - this was chosen by the bridal party - but obviously not always to everyone's taste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

have just arrived back from an all inclusive weekend at this Hotel. My wife and I went with another couple, on arrival reception staff was friendly and on noticing 1 room was in the main building and the other was in the business center she quickly changed one room to allow us to have 2 rooms in the business center ( a minute walk through the car park). Our rooms were spotlessly clean and our room had a 4 poster bed. We were all inclusive and found the food to be of a high standard. The dining room staff were extremely helpful and efficient, particularly Tom, Josh and a young French lady who wouldn't let us carry our coffees from the dining room to the lounge, she found us seats and brought our coffee to us. In all we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, and would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: 83 in Buisness Centre has a four poster bed !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Glad you had a good stay and many thanks for leaving your comments for us
These will be shared with all the staff concerned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked an amazon local deal for afternoon tea at this hotel and after reading the previous review I wasn't looking forward to it BUT we were really pleased with what we received .
I have been to the marriot in London for afternoon tea so had somewhere to compare it too, if your expecting fine china and cake stands don't go to the goldthorn but if you want a friendly welcome good food fantastic service in comfortable cosy surroundings then give it a try !
We had triangles of egg mayo sandwiches , salmon , ham and onion , salted crips & nuts , scones with cream & jam and a wedge of chocolate fudge cake , a huge pot of tea which was refilled without asking and a glass of rose wine for myself and coke for my friend who was driving.
Overall a very enjoyable afternoon away from the kids and we would defiantly return .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Many thanks for leaving your comments and glad that you were happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Nice hotel but rooms and bathroom a little cramped. Food was very good and staff friendly. Only major complaint would be the lack of soundproofing. Very noisy customers coming back drunk at night and if there are people above you it sounds like a herd of elephants

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for your feedback following your stay
Apologies for the disturbed sleep - as we are an old building the floor boards in some areas can be loud and echoey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a lovely hotel and the staff are great, Faith who I think is the manager is naturally friendly bends every which way he can to help however the last time we stayed (a few years ago) this was a Quality hotel and not a Mercure. This time although still lovely, the Quality (pardon the pun) seems to be lacking, the evening meal left us sat in the restaurant for nearly 2 hours most of it waiting to be served for a meal that wasn't really worth the wait and was almost cold, we ended up going to the KFC straight afterwards. The hotel itself was too hot, the bedrooms were suffocating the radiators were so hot (even with the widows fully open) and couldn't be altered no matter how much we tried which meant we hardly slept and had banging headaches the next morning, not a great start to the day. The breakfast was brilliant, as much as you want and a good variety, the cooked part was as hot and tasty as it looked and the waitress, here, there and everywhere with a smile was very attentive.
Like we said its a lovely hotel and we would use it again if the above negatives were rectified.., put the QUALITY back, just because it's no longer in your name doesn't mean you no longer have to use it in the detail.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for leaving your feedback following your stay
Will pass comments to Faith - but sorry that you had a delay in the restaurant for dinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights Friday & Saturday. Rooms not ready till 2pm so we decided to go for a drink in lounge bar which is nice, got talking to bar man called faith (turkish) who could not do enough for us, nice man who loved to talk. We had a lovely sandwich and coffee, check in was simple & quick and the room 52 was clean, tidy & big, we did pay extra for the superior room. One issue with the room was it was like a sauna, radiators off and windows wide open and still very warm, told reception who did put us a fan in and did help a bit. Staff are kind and happy to help. The health club was a big let down, the changing rooms are a disgrace, small, mucky and not looked after, rusty metal lockers without a lock on! The pool was okay but needs refurbishment as does steam room, sauna was not on or not working. If your looking for a hotel with a nice health club then this is not the one. For eating we went to penn tandoori curry house up the road which was fantastic, and Chinese wing wah which was about ten mins in taxi but really good. Breakfast in hotel was nice, sometimes you have to wait for your table. All in all we would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Many thanks for leaving your comments following your stay
Apologies for problems encountered in the leisure centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Address: 126 Penn Road, Wolverhampton WV3 0ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy reach of M6/M54/M5 and NEC, the Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel offers some pleasant surprises. With original features throughout the bar area and a contemporary restaurant, the hotel provides an excellent setting from which to base your visit to the Midlands. There is also the opportunity to upgrade to one of six, four poster rooms, besides the other 76 well appointed en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goldthorn Hotel Leisure
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.